We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sully Plantation

Sully Plantation
3650 Historic Sully Way, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-437-1794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Chantilly
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very pretty grounds with helpful and informative staff. I go every year to the car show that's held every Father's Day. If you're in the DC metro area with time to kill, it's a nice peaceful place to visit. However, I wouldn't plan a vacation around it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A relaxing time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We've lived in the area for almost seven years, but finally took the time to go to the Sully Plantation. We were always going to stop by with out of town visitors, but it just wasn't happening. The tour of the home was great. Laurie did an outstanding job and was very informative. A walk around the grounds in the fall was lovely. Our toddler loved running around and checkout of all of the out buildings and fences!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice stop while waiting to exit Dulles.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I had a couple hours to kill before we needed to be at Dulles for our flight back to the West Coast. Sully Plantation really filled the bill! Sully is different from the big plantations we had visited in North and South Carolina, being smaller and less ornate. The tour guide was quite knowledgeable, and very friendly. She welcomed questions, and allowed us plenty of time for photography. The young man who manned the souvenir shop was also friendly and helpful.

Lots of interesting artifacts in the display cases, and rooms decorated and furnished as during the plantation's hayday, including the workshops and outbuildings of what was a compound designed for self-sufficiency. The main house has a large front porch, with benches, where you can admire the grounds, and even get a mental image of Jeb Stuart's cavalry camping out on the front lawn. The plantation grounds were lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small, but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is one of the smaller plantations, and as such is more easily understood. The house is smaller and more low-key in its furnishings. Battle recreations are also held here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Satisfied with Sully”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Great history lesson. I liked the detail and the high quality displays. The people visiting were noisy, but the staff was very nice and helpful. I want to see more but I did not have enough time.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sully Plantation also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sully Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sully Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.