We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay South American food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Churro Cafe

Don Churro Cafe
13905 Metrotech Dr, Chantilly, VA 20151-3234
703-378-1211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Don Churro Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 133 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 50
Description: Don Churro Cafe is a hidden gem located in Chantilly, Virginia specializing in authentic dishes from Peru, Ecuador, Venezuela, Chile, Argentina, Colombia, and Spain. Named one of the region's Best New Restaurants by Northern Virginia Magazine, Don Churro Cafe presents delicacies from the expansive dinner menu, such as ceviche peruano, empanadas and saltenas, gambas al ajillo, Ecuadorian llapingachos, bandeja paisa, and Venezuelan arepas. Homemade churros piped full of manjar blanco (caramel) or delicious Nutella are sprinkled with powdered sugar for good measure. To ensure the quality of our food, all dishes are cooked to order using the freshest ingredients. The chef uses canola or olive oil in all of our dishes, organic coffee in our specialty coffees and recycles all its cooking oil. Visit our menu and events at www.gotchurros.com or at our Facebook page and "Discover the most authentic delicacies of the Latin world without ever leaving your neighborhood."
Haymarket, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Okay South American food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is my second visit and I haven't learned that I should just avoid eating chicken here. Today, I had the tacu tacu with pollo saltado, and the chicken was kind of dry and bland. It did taste better when I poured on some of the green sauce (I forget the name). The empanadas were good(I ordered one beef And one chicken). The straps were ok--I am used to the Colombian version which isn't as dry. My husband had the skirt steak again which was really good.

I wish the kids meals were actual south American fare and not Mac and cheese or chicken. My kids actually like the food here and obeying bring them to restaurants up eat what they can get a McDondlds or KFC!

I will come back but I am not ordering chicken entrees anymore.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had never before had South American cuisine, so I cannot rate this place compared to anything similar, but I can only say I did enjoy the food and my experience there. The staff was very nice and patient explaining what the various dishes were. I went in a group of four and everyone liked their dishes and our appetiser. I recommend asking for the 'red sauce' if you like spicy food.

Only negatives were that they had run out of one of the main sauces so two people in our party had to re-order (the staff did apologise and it was not a big problem) and some of the dishes might be a few dollars too pricy for what they are. All in all, though, I recommend this place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Maybe I just don't like Peruvian food, but I'm pretty sure that isn't the case.... I think it is more like I don't like Peruvian food prepared by this restaurant. The only nice thing about this place was the owner was super friendly and charming, the servers.. not so much.

I hope this place doesn't stay around too long, it is good real estate space for a decent restaurant. What we need is some good Mexican around here, and Anitas around the corner isn't cutting it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute south american cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Fantastic carne asada which came with tostones which were also god. The arepas and empanada were excellent. The service and the staff were very helpful. The coffee could have a Latino touch. But fresh juices was fantastic. Looking forward to coming here again for dinner and drinks, the mohito looks inviting.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good South American Tapas and Sangria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I recently had lunch at Don Churro, a South American and Spanish restaurant in Chantilly. We decided to split a variety of their tapas accompanied by their Sangria. We had the Chilena empanada which was filled with ground beef, olives, raisins, onions and eggs, the De Queso empanada, filled with queso fresco, the Arepas con carne mechada made with pulled beef, and the Causa de pollo, made of layers of mashed potatoes mixed with aji amarillo chicken, mayonnaise and avocado. All were good, but we especially liked the Chilena and De Queso empanadas. The Sangria was fruity and spicy. Service was excellent and friendly. Prices are reasonable. All in all a good experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Churro Cafe also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Don Churro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Churro Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.