We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute south american cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Churro Cafe

Don Churro Cafe
13905 Metrotech Dr, Chantilly, VA 20151-3234
703-378-1211
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 126 restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 50
Description: Don Churro Cafe is a hidden gem located in Chantilly, Virginia specializing in authentic dishes from Peru, Ecuador, Venezuela, Chile, Argentina, Colombia, and Spain. Named one of the region's Best New Restaurants by Northern Virginia Magazine, Don Churro Cafe presents delicacies from the expansive dinner menu, such as ceviche peruano, empanadas and saltenas, gambas al ajillo, Ecuadorian llapingachos, bandeja paisa, and Venezuelan arepas. Homemade churros piped full of manjar blanco (caramel) or delicious Nutella are sprinkled with powdered sugar for good measure. To ensure the quality of our food, all dishes are cooked to order using the freshest ingredients. The chef uses canola or olive oil in all of our dishes, organic coffee in our specialty coffees and recycles all its cooking oil. Visit our menu and events at www.gotchurros.com or at our Facebook page and "Discover the most authentic delicacies of the Latin world without ever leaving your neighborhood."
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolute south american cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic carne asada which came with tostones which were also god. The arepas and empanada were excellent. The service and the staff were very helpful. The coffee could have a Latino touch. But fresh juices was fantastic. Looking forward to coming here again for dinner and drinks, the mohito looks inviting.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    10
    5
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Good South American Tapas and Sangria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I recently had lunch at Don Churro, a South American and Spanish restaurant in Chantilly. We decided to split a variety of their tapas accompanied by their Sangria. We had the Chilena empanada which was filled with ground beef, olives, raisins, onions and eggs, the De Queso empanada, filled with queso fresco, the Arepas con carne mechada made with pulled beef, and the Causa de pollo, made of layers of mashed potatoes mixed with aji amarillo chicken, mayonnaise and avocado. All were good, but we especially liked the Chilena and De Queso empanadas. The Sangria was fruity and spicy. Service was excellent and friendly. Prices are reasonable. All in all a good experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnialcdlo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Even good for the apprehensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband LOVES dragging me to ethic restaurants to see what the heck I'm going to choose to eat. We were pleasantly surprised! I was expecting Mexican type food and it was not. I'm not quite sure what it was although I think South American. The food was all very normal food everyone would recognize - just not necessarily together. For instance, my meal had seasoned chicken, rice, french fries, gravy, and fried plantains. It was amazing although I had never had all those things together. They were really good though! We actually went about a year ago and have been back at least 4 more times and I've ordered something different every time and have been happy every time! It's rarely crowded and the staff is friendly. There was once that everyone's food came out at different times. They were apologetic and gave us free dessert to make things right. The churro with Nutella was quite yummy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This restaurant has a critical management problem. The food is good however the service is very disappointing. Managers (female) needs to learn how to apologize to customers and provide an effective training to their staff (servers and cooks). During busy hours the restaurant’s management should be prepared for high volume of customers and manager should not expect that customers understand that the kitchen is busy. I waited for about an hour for my food after that I lost my appetite. The restaurant’s owners may choose not to pay attention to this post but if they do, honestly they should consider change the way how they operate this business.
I will never go back to this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The arroz con pollo was underwhelming (bland and mushy), but the appetizers were tasty, as was the skirt steak.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Churro Cafe also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Don Churro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Churro Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.