We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Chantilly
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums, Science Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“DC Trip 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 NEW

DC Metro doesn't go out this far, so you'll have to drive. it's not that far from the Dulles Airport & easy to get to. you pay to park. there is no entry fee for the museum itself. wear comfortable walking shoes.
if you go to the observation tower, you can use an app to know what flights you are seeing landing at Dulles.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,282
    243
    26
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 NEW

This museum is right next to Dulles airport. But even though we had only flown into Dulles a few days earlier and were staying in Arlington, we decided to get the silver line metro and then the bus to the museum. It took us over an hour to get there, but it is well worth it Just to see the space shuttle Discovery and Blackbird. There are so many aircraft on display to see and it's free admission. My six year old son and i absolutely loved it and my wife even enjoyed it too. There is a shop which has really good reasonably priced souvenirs in it and also a Mcdonalds restaurant for lunch, at least the food in Mcdonalds is well priced unlike some other museum cafes that are just a rip off. When you've finished round the museum you can visit the observation tower for great views across to Dulles airport and surrounding countryside. We spent nearly all day here because there is so much to see and if you go during the week it seems quieter.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Museum to take Children to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 NEW

We have been there several times and have always enjoyed it. When we have company visiting we try to take them there since it is local to us. They have special events like for Halloween that is fun for the children. Great exhibits to see.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Air & Space Museum - A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 NEW via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to "the annexe". We were lucky enough to have a guided tour from my cousin who has worked with the Smithsonian in the past.

The reason we enjoyed it so much was that although it is a busy place, we did not feel rushed or have to wait to see any of the exhibits.

A must see for the flight enthusiast!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Final Home of the Space Shuttle Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 NEW via mobile

growing up in the 80s, the space shuttle program was very inspiring, so simply being able to see the space shuttle Discovery made the drive from DC worth it. Incredible piece of history. Over 200 aircraft, on 3 levels: Other notable exhibits include the Enola Gay, a Concorde and an SR71-Blackbird, X-35 Joint Strike Fighter, and several WWII aircraft (Allied and Axis). The observation tower was underwhelming.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.