We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Amazing place. So much history in one place. Great exhibition and good facilities. Discovery space shuttle is worth the trip

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,496
    274
    32
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“don t leave Washington without seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

if you think that you have seen ""the"" Air and Space museum Washington , you must have been at the mall where all the museums are ..........

Indeed a very nice museum but if you are into flying and want see the ""real things "" , don t mis this air and space museum near Dulles airport where history and present are exhibited in real things.

From blackbird to solar challenger , .from messerschmitt to mustang from first men fligt till the space shuttle.......and beyond.

FREE ENTRANCE however a 15 $ parking fee

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We thought our 12 yr old girls would be bored, but LOVED it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband has always been an aviation fan, and I've always loved the Smithsonian museums, so we decided to take our 12 yr old girls to the Dulles branch of the National Air and Space Museum. They absolutely loved it!
We spent our entire day there casually strolling through all the exhibits, first heading to the Space Shuttle on display. It was amazing to see an actual space shuttle so close up. As one who remembers the tragic accidents the U.S. experienced in its shuttle fleet, it was incredible to be able to see the tiles that were designed to protect the shuttle. We loved seeing the evolution of space flight as well.
We enjoyed all the other galleries, too. It was easy for all of us to read the narratives that accompanied each item on display. The girls had fun, too, as we took photos of them pretending to be sucked into a huge engine or "holding up" many of the aircraft suspended from the ceilings.
After we watched an IMAX movie, we went back to watch two more! Although there was an extra fee for the IMAX movies, they were well worth it.
For me the best part was riding in a simulator with my husband. The simulators cost extra, but it was the best money we spent all day! It was so realistic, and my husband did not really have control of the "jet," so I alternated between screaming and laughing so hard it hurt!
The only negative was that the only food venue is a McDonald's, which doesn't exactly offer lots of healthy options. Also, the demand at lunchtime made the restaurant feel like a zoo.
Our girls talked about our day to family and friends for weeks, and we can't wait to go back, despite the nearly 3-hour car ride to get there!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Aerospace Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This beautifully maintained, superbly designed centre has a wonderful array of aerospace exhibits that chart aviation from its beginnings to the space shuttle. Real air and space craft are the stars - sitting proudly front and centre. The layout is great. There are many elevated viewpoints and abundant opportunities for photography. Free guided tours are frequent and led by knowledgeable docents. There's an elevated tower that looks onto Washington Dulles Airport and an IMAX theatre. A wonderful outing. Admission free, but $15 to park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Air and Space Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Actually located next to Dulles Airport. Free to the public but you pay for parking until 4:00. Lots to see from planes to rockets to space craft. They have The Enola Gay B29, a Space Shuttle and even a Black Bird.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.