We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don t leave Washington without seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“don t leave Washington without seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

if you think that you have seen ""the"" Air and Space museum Washington , you must have been at the mall where all the museums are ..........

Indeed a very nice museum but if you are into flying and want see the ""real things "" , don t mis this air and space museum near Dulles airport where history and present are exhibited in real things.

From blackbird to solar challenger , .from messerschmitt to mustang from first men fligt till the space shuttle.......and beyond.

FREE ENTRANCE however a 15 $ parking fee

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,695
    306
    38
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We thought our 12 yr old girls would be bored, but LOVED it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband has always been an aviation fan, and I've always loved the Smithsonian museums, so we decided to take our 12 yr old girls to the Dulles branch of the National Air and Space Museum. They absolutely loved it!
We spent our entire day there casually strolling through all the exhibits, first heading to the Space Shuttle on display. It was amazing to see an actual space shuttle so close up. As one who remembers the tragic accidents the U.S. experienced in its shuttle fleet, it was incredible to be able to see the tiles that were designed to protect the shuttle. We loved seeing the evolution of space flight as well.
We enjoyed all the other galleries, too. It was easy for all of us to read the narratives that accompanied each item on display. The girls had fun, too, as we took photos of them pretending to be sucked into a huge engine or "holding up" many of the aircraft suspended from the ceilings.
After we watched an IMAX movie, we went back to watch two more! Although there was an extra fee for the IMAX movies, they were well worth it.
For me the best part was riding in a simulator with my husband. The simulators cost extra, but it was the best money we spent all day! It was so realistic, and my husband did not really have control of the "jet," so I alternated between screaming and laughing so hard it hurt!
The only negative was that the only food venue is a McDonald's, which doesn't exactly offer lots of healthy options. Also, the demand at lunchtime made the restaurant feel like a zoo.
Our girls talked about our day to family and friends for weeks, and we can't wait to go back, despite the nearly 3-hour car ride to get there!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Aerospace Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This beautifully maintained, superbly designed centre has a wonderful array of aerospace exhibits that chart aviation from its beginnings to the space shuttle. Real air and space craft are the stars - sitting proudly front and centre. The layout is great. There are many elevated viewpoints and abundant opportunities for photography. Free guided tours are frequent and led by knowledgeable docents. There's an elevated tower that looks onto Washington Dulles Airport and an IMAX theatre. A wonderful outing. Admission free, but $15 to park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Air and Space Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Actually located next to Dulles Airport. Free to the public but you pay for parking until 4:00. Lots to see from planes to rockets to space craft. They have The Enola Gay B29, a Space Shuttle and even a Black Bird.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the trip, something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A well-designed, very accessible collection of some of our most significant planes, missiles, spacecraft. Whether it's the Shuttle, the Enola Gay, or the Concorde -- whether it's WW2 aviation or space adventures -- whether it's the human side or the science, this is an easily comprehended, well-organized array. You'll be touched and excited by the history that's visible there. Be sure to view it all from all levels. During busy tourist season, get there at opening and go up into the Observation Tower first. Can be done in 2 yrs., three is more leisurely.

Gift shop is limited and, except for the books, mostly young-child oriented. Food is McD's.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.