We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Increadible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This the museum / attraction you must see to believe. It is a huge hangar like facility that has incredible aircraft in it. If you want to be feet from the Space shuttle Discovery, an SR-71, the Concorde, the Enola Gay, and many more historic aircraft, you need to go here. Take the 5A bus from Rosslyn or L’Enfant metro stations to Dulles and the shuttle from there to the museum. It will take about an hour 1 way on the bus. The museum will take 2 to 4 hours. See it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,710
    306
    38
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venetia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't believe I spent the entire day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was looking forward to seeing the space shuttle, but this place had so much more to offer. We got there before opening allowing us some undisturbed time looking at the shuttle and then took a free guided tour which ran about an hour and half with a very interesting, knowledgeable docent. We were so engrossed with the place that my wife and I both went to virtually every individual plane/exhibit (and there are a lot of them) and read about almost everyone. I did not expect to find it so interesting. Highly recommend if you're in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place is AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I still can't believe this was free admission!! You pay 15 bucks for parking but it was more than worth it. If you love aircraft then this place is the holy grail. It has a Space Shuttle (Discovery), an SR71 Blackbird, Concorde, The Enola Gay and just about every plane you can imagine. It's all well laid out with easy access plus the walkways are at different heights allowing for some great views of the aircraft. They run iMax cinemas too showing movies about their aircraft and there is a viewing tower that allows you to see for miles around. I can't say enough good things about this place. You need to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This museum puts the one down town to shame. If you are any bit an airplane or space fan, it's worth the trip. The Museum is free, just the parking is $15. But worth every bit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“This is better than the downtown one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been to many air & space museums and this is the best. All sorts of stuff well displayed. There is a 50 cent shuttle between Dulles Airport and the Museum and free luggage storage (put a quarter in and get it back when you leave). MacDonalds on site.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.