We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This place is AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I still can't believe this was free admission!! You pay 15 bucks for parking but it was more than worth it. If you love aircraft then this place is the holy grail. It has a Space Shuttle (Discovery), an SR71 Blackbird, Concorde, The Enola Gay and just about every plane you can imagine. It's all well laid out with easy access plus the walkways are at different heights allowing for some great views of the aircraft. They run iMax cinemas too showing movies about their aircraft and there is a viewing tower that allows you to see for miles around. I can't say enough good things about this place. You need to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,509
    277
    32
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This museum puts the one down town to shame. If you are any bit an airplane or space fan, it's worth the trip. The Museum is free, just the parking is $15. But worth every bit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“This is better than the downtown one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been to many air & space museums and this is the best. All sorts of stuff well displayed. There is a 50 cent shuttle between Dulles Airport and the Museum and free luggage storage (put a quarter in and get it back when you leave). MacDonalds on site.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Not a fan of museums, but loved this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Planes, planes, history, planes.

I was sold when I saw the SR71 pointed right at the front door. I had to go down and stand under that monster. Holy s---!

If you like planes, appreciate planes, or more, you will love this place. And it is huge so it never feels crowded.

And don't forget to check out the NASA section.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Plane & Space Geeks need to visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Traveling to Washington DC to see the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum we also spent 6 hours at the Steven F Udvar Hazy Center at the Dulles Airport. Now transport to the venue is limited and there is nowhere to store luggage so check into your hotel first and go back but it is worth every cent it costs to get there ( It is about $75 in a cab from Dupont Circle) or cheaper on the metro and takes about 1 hour 20 to get there on metro.
Everything form the Enola Gay to the Space Shuttle Discovery is on display. It is geek heaven. It is set out so you can see the planes from below and also above on walkways. Oh did i mention it is actually FREE so you only costs are transport and food (Macdonalds is the only on site food)
This was a highlight of our visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.