We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best aviation museums we've been to!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the best aviation museums we've been to!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was by far one of the best aviation museums we have visited!! Our family (5 people) found it amazing, we could have been there all day. I really liked the layout- the free flowing groups of planes and the openness of the space. Space shuttle Discovery was by far the best part. Our children ages from 4-13 were amazed with the whole museum. This one is a winner!
Highly recommended. Go at 4pm when parking is free, it will give you enough time to see everything, and it will cost you nothing. We loved it. This Air and Space museum was much better than the other one in Washington DC.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,608
    294
    35
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best museum ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very nice museum!
get there early and run to the second floor where you can get free tickets to the planetarium, than you can get your way downstairs enjoying all the ships and aircrafts!
best part is the apollo space ships... it is amazing to see the real lunar module and the pictures thy took from the moon,

very good dor kids either!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Air and Space museum now house the Space Shuttle Discovery! This was my second trip, and I have now seen two Shuttles here, the test Shuttle Enterprise back in 2009. The museum is free, but parking costs $15. TIP: Go after 4pm and there is no charge for parking. Museum is open till 5:30 which gave me sufficient time to see everything and visit the gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Certainly worth the journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I visited the main Aerospace museum downtown yesterday, which I found interesting but dusty and somewhat passé. Not here! The collection is fabulous, well presented, the docents are very knowledgeable, and there is comfortable space to walk around the exhibits. There is no fee to enter, but there is one ($15) to park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We travelled from in washington city centre to go back out to the airport to visit the museum. It was worth the 2 hours to get there . There is heaps to look at. From the space shuttle to f14 tomcats. Highly reccomded.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.