We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to see the Space Shuttle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Chantilly
Type: Science Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Got to see the Space Shuttle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

They have quite a collection of planes here.
The SR71 and space shuttle are the main attraction here for me. My very first time seeing them.

It's free admission. So, I don't really mind the parking fee. The staffs are quite friendly too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,351
    252
    26
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Immense Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Some guys I met in Baltimore told me about this place after telling them about my trip to the DC Air and Space Museum. They said this would blow me away. And they were right. The historic relevance of the Udvar-Hazy Center is remarkable. The featured exhibits are the SR71,Space Shuttle Discovery, the Air France Concorde and the actual Enola Gay. The museum itself is well thought out, spacious and accommodating. Don't think very young children would enjoy this but 8 and above may grasp the significance of this fine historic arena. There is also an IMAX theatre (I recommend the Hubble film) and simulation rides.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“My personal opinion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have now been to both air and space museums and I think the one in DC is better. The highlight of this one is you can see Discovery. But other than that I felt like there aren't any hands on activates at this one like the other. It was hard to keep the kids entertained. They have tons of planes. Boys may love this place more then little girls. Parking is $15.00.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Collection of Planes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice gem of a place on the back side of Dulles Airport. There is a tower you can go up in to see the airfield. It is also a great location to watch planes come in if you are sitting in the cafe or out on the sidewalk.

As everyone else's stated, an amazing collection of aircraft! Certainly worth the trip and an amazing value!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Incredible!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This Smithsonian is definitely worth the visit! The space shuttle is incredible, be sure to get a picture from the upper walkway. The simulation rides went over well with the kids, they loved that the ride actually turned upside down. Parking is $15 per vehicle, which isn't too bad for a free museum. There is a neat Transformers exhibit that shows the scene from Transformers 2 that was filmed in the museum. Allow yourself at least a few hours to visit, the museum is expansive. Overall a great place for anyone who loves planes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.