We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the planes and the show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 attractions in Chantilly
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums, Science Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoy the planes and the show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This made a great way to spend a few hours in air conditioned comfort and out of the summer heat. The displays are well situated to make it interesting as well as informative. I especially loved the space hanger with missiles and the space shuttle. It was less crowded than the downtown museum so one could enjoy the displays.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,091
    207
    25
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IAH
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I can't tell more than what already said in the other reviews.
The only reason I went there is for the Space Shuttle Orbiter Discovery and I was so glad I did.
That thing is so amazing & breathtaking. I'm sure everyone including those who are not so amused with museums would appreciate the orbiter.
This is a must see place in DC. The museum is filled with all kinds of airplanes.
All the displays are in one huge rectangular floor except for the shuttle & space displays, which are in a separate hall.
The parking is little steep at $15. You would need at least 2-3 hours but you can spend all day.
Do take the free guided tour, which is offered every hour. These tour guides are awesome. They are dedicated, love their job and more eager to answer all your questions.
I've taken many narrated tours but this is the best. These people are actual engineers, ex-airmen and/or worked in that industry so you would learn whole lot more from them than if you just walk around & try to learn by yourself. The tour would last about 1-2 hours depending on your guide. I learned a lot from the tour.
Unfortunately the day I went they lost power (a national disgrace) to the entire facility so they kicked us all out of museum floor in middle of the tour. The tour guide still continued the tour standing in the balcony of the top (entrance) floor pointing at each plane from the distance. The power didn't come back for the rest of the day so I didn't spend as much time as I wanted but I already spent about 2 hours and enough time with the shuttle.
I didn't get time to see the tower or IMAX movies because of the power outage. I need to go back again.
The other national disgrace is that the only place you can eat inside the National air & space museum is McD (seriously?)
There is nothing nearby so that's your only option. Do they really want to feed all the patrons of this great museum only with McD?
It's better if you pack & bring your own food. No outside food is allowed inside but there is plenty of space outside the museum building to sit and eat. Since there is no fee to enter the building o you can go out, eat in your car and come back anytime.
I would go back any day, any time to this place. This is highly recommended esp. if you are interested in air & space.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jheb69
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Space Shuttle/Aircraft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent place to visit. An amazing collection of aircraft. Being able to see the Space Shuttle Discovery was a great experience. Very clean, well maintained facility. The IMAX theater is very nice too. We saw HUBBLE and my teenage daughter loved it. Going up to the control tower was another hit with my family. You get to hear the actual live audio from nearby Dulles airport and you have a great view to watch the planes coming in to land there.

There is a McDonalds on site, I wish there had been a better dining option. It costs $15 to park but the museum is free.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A fun place to visit. It is very inviting and family friendly. My wife and I had an amazing time at the Air and Space. There is a lot to see and do.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is huge! You could easily spend all day checking out all the different airplanes and flying vehicles. There is the Space Shuttle Discovery and a SST plane as the highlights.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center to your Saves list