We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Chantilly
Type: Science Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Hubble in the IMAX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The previous reviews sum it up well. I just want to add that the film HUBBLE in the IMAX theater was the most amazing and unbelievable film I have EVER seen. Get there at 10:00 when they open and view this film first. They have so much to see there and tons of information.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,347
    251
    26
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Great Family Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Air and Space Museum is a must see-it is a Smithsonian Institution. To be able to see all the old planes-the Discovery space ship-replicas of satellites and the space suits-from the first one to the latest. There was so much to see, plan to spend the most of your day. We took a break and watched a IMAX movie, The Dream is Alive. The movie is narrated by Walter Cronkite, it was dated but for us seniors it was good. The observation tower was a real thrill, especially when a plane flew by to land at Dulles Airport.
Year ago we visited the NASA Kennedy Space Center-so this was full circle for us. I highly recommend putting this on your must see list. Easy to find and parking was right out front. There is a parking fee of $15.00, museum entry is free. The IMAX movies are below $10.00 ($8.00 for Seniors). You won't be sorry you went-we kept putting it off-so glad we finally went.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our son is stationed at Andrews AFB, MD. He told us it was his favorite museum and a must see.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Plan a half day for travel and to see the facility. It's located all the way out by Dulles Air Port but the exhibits are exceptional.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“What a place to see the Space Shuttle Discovery and More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We really enjoyed this museum with its big variety of aircraft on display including historical ones - The Discovery space shuttle, the Enola Gay, and many more...

The facility is loaded with volunteers and staff - well kept - lots of activities for all ages. We found helpful notes by most every display - lots to learn about history and technology of air flight here...

Don't miss it if you are in the area - a $15 parking fee helps fund the further development and upkeep of the museum since funding was cut by Congress - but the cost for a carload is well worth it - you would pay at least that for most private museums of this quality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than the one at the Mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We came to DC for a US history trip with my kids. Unfortunately we came during field trip week with thousands and thousands of 8th graders swarming and pushing their way through every site we wanted to see. After counting 39 tour busses at Mt. Vernon we set our GPS for the air and space museum that had the space shuttle. Oh I am so glad we did! The place was enormous! The display of all these original airplanes took our breath away! The tour guides were amazing! They were informative, knowledgeable and funny. There were 15 tour busses when we arrived but the place is so expansive we never saw or were bothered by any of them. I am so glad we came!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.