We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Space Shuttle, Discovery, up close and personal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
FORT WALTON BEACH
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Space Shuttle, Discovery, up close and personal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It's hard to believe how insignificant you feel when you walk into the hangar where the 'Discovery' is housed. What an awesome sight!! Its covering of tiles was a real eye-opener for me. There are so many things to see in this three story museum. I enjoyed seeing a small medical helicopter, a bit newer than the ones shown in MASH, that actually housed the injured 'inside' the helicopter. But there surely is something of interest to everyone who visits. The $15 parking fee, per car, is a bargain considering the admission in to the museum is free! Open every day except Christmas day, with extended summer hours. The museum is actually located in Chantilly, VA, and is near the Dulles Airport. It is also the companion facility to the Museum on the National Mall. The building is huge, but we found plenty of places to sit and rest. There is a security check at the entrance, so traveling light is helpful. Here are two great web-sites: http://airandspace.si.edu/museum/udvarhazy/, http://airandspace.si.edu/visit/hours.cfm

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,625
    299
    35
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was the highlight of our DC/Virginia trip. We went not knowing much about the museum (having only previously been to the Air and Space Museum in DC) and from the moment we got there loved it. Plenty of parking, very cool building. We loved the Space Shuttle exhibit and could have spent the entire day there quite happily. Seeing some of the historic planes like the Enola Gay was exciting and our pictures from the day came out amazing. Loved the gift shop- found so many unique toys and souvenirs for my son and niece there that we wouldn't have been able to find online or anywhere else. The McDonald's was convenient since we were so far from our hotel and ended up spending much more time than planned at the museum. Not too crowded- definitely less people there than at the DC museum. Allowed us to really get great pictures and spend as much time as we wanted looking at exhibits. There were also several book signings going on while we were there which was a pleasant surprise.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Attraction for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This museum is much larger than the National Air and Space museum in downtown Washington so it does not feel as crowded even during peak season. This is a definite must see attraction if you are into airplanes or space travel. Highlights include a concorde, the Enola Gray, and the space shuttle.

There is a tower which you can take an elevator seven stories up to look over Dulles Airport to watch airplanes land and take off. However, when we were there it was a 30-40 minute wait since the elevator only holds about 15 people. And then we had to wait in line to get back down the elevator. My advice would be to skip this unless the line is short - it was not worth the 45 minutes we spent waiting for the elevator.

Admission is free but you have to pay $15 per car to park (free after 4:00 PM) but it is well worth the cost. There is a McDonalds on site if you need a meal since it is not really close to anything else.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“All the really big, cool stuff including a shuttle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you like airplanes, this is a must see destination even though it is out by Dulles airport. Displays include a shuttle, a stealth bomber, and tons of smaller aircraft. Go in the middle of the day, in the middle of the week and you'll have to place almost to yourself.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“What a great place. Glad I finally got here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Been coming to DC for years, and finally got out to this annex of the Air and Space Museum.
Entrance is free, but there is the $15 parking fee. Really no way to avoid that, although I saw a shuttle bus at the Dulles airport that looked like it was going there - something to check out if you really want, or if you have a long layover.
They've got some real history here - The Discovery shuttle, the Enola Gay, etc. The layout is great - the building is so huge, you begin to wonder if the planes are life size or not (they are!).

The planes are arranged in sections - commercial air, space (shuttle, satellites), military, WWII, etc.

There is so much you can see there - I only saw the highlights in my 1 1/2 hours. There is a McDonalds on site, and there were Omni theator films to see if you want.

Highly recommend getting to this museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.