We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 attractions in Chantilly
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums, Science Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
West Point, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Displays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed the visit.
There are a lot of airplanes, rockets.
And some displays are historically significant; Aircrafts in early age, rare German, Japanese military aircrafts, B-29 which bomed Hiroshima, Some missiles which represent Cold War era in 1950's and Space Shuttle.
If you are interested in aircrafts, you must visit there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,118
    212
    25
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Even though we live close by, we had yet to go this museum until friends came in from out of town. Parking is $15, but the museum is free. If you have a 3+ hour layover at Dulles, you should consider taking the shuttle over (I believe it is free). The museum is full of the history of flying and aviation from some of the earliest flying craft to some of the most unusual flying craft. The docents tend to be retired pilot, so they have some wonderful stories about the various aircraft and some of the wars that they were in. We also go to see the space shuttle test vehicle, which, I believe, has now been replaced with either the Discovery or one of the other shuttles. There is an entire room devoted to the shuttles and their history which is really interesting. There is a lot here for the entire family to enjoy. It is also very family friendly in that it is basically one large hanger with a walk around upper level so you can get eye to eye with some of the planes, but it makes it easy to keep tabs on the kids in the group. Well worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The space shuttle is here .... need I say more ??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Probably the best museum I have went to. While there are arguaby more planes than there needs to be, there are a few key planes that set it apart: Concorde, Blackbird and Discovery. This is a must see for anyone to see. The guides are free and informed.

I was hoping to see inside a few of the planes (what does 1st class look like on a Concorde ?? or the living conditions in the space shuttle) but understand why they dont want you to look inside. Still it would have been great to have some interactive views or photos.

Still it is worth it alone to see the the space shuttle.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Seeing a space shuttle up close is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On arrival, the parking is $15 (the museum is free) and there is plenty of it. You walk up to the entrance via the walk dedicated to people of note within the industry. Once inside you can grab a map or buy tickets for the IMAX. We skipped the movies as we wanted the maximum time in the exhibits. There is a tower accessible from the ground floor and once you take the elevator up you can see/hear the planes coming into land at Dulles. The exhibit on level 6 about Air Traffic Control is extremely interesting. Back in the main exhibit there are planes varying from the Wright Brother era through the 2 World Wars, Vietnam and Korea and later, commercial aviation and much more. The blackbird is very impressive. There is a walk way around most of the planes from above so you can get closer to those exhibits hanging. The Shuttle hanger was the highlight, but this was also where I felt a little more information about the shuttle's history, building it and life onboard would have been nice.
Overall it's worth the visit for adults and children. The only disappointing things were the somewhat small store despite the size of the venue and the fact you can only have mcdonalds for lunch. I am guessing you could maybe picnic but I didn't see anywhere. On the plus side these are the cleanest restrooms I have ever been in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent planes to view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Enola Gay, as well as a Concorde and a host of several WWII planes. The only thing I disliked is the fact that you could not go inside one or see a cockpit with the old instrumentation. It would be nice it one was sliced in half so to speak with glass so you could see inside one.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center to your Saves list