We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Chantilly
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums, Science Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

On a Monday in February is a fabulous time, but any day in any season is a great time to visit this amazing museum! There were very few people when we were there, so we were able to get all the pictures we wanted of the over 200 aircraft and space objects along with the star attraction which is the Space Shuttle "Discovery". Admission is free; however, parking is $15. Some airport hotels offer free shuttles, but you can get a Virginia Regional Transit bus from the airport for 50 cents. Free tours are offered (see the schedule at the tour desk behind the SR-71 Blackbird). There is an IMAX theater and a viewing tower with great views of airplanes coming in at Dulles Airport. There is also a McDonalds in the museum if you get hungry. Be sure to look for the Restoration Hangar overlook as well. We spent about 3 hrs. at the museum, but you could get through much faster if you planned your visit ahead of time. The museum's website offers a lot of great information and maps for self-guided tours. http://airandspace.si.edu/museum/udvarhazy/

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,222
    235
    26
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Took a short car ride down the highway 28 to the Air and space. I had to see the Discovery Shuttle
It is free to get in but $15 to park and worth every penny. As it is winter the place was empty ( a plus for me )the whole place is well laid out and there are more than enough people to ask questions to, in fact they do free guided tours .The Shuttle ( my main reason for going ) is just amazing and a whole lot bigger than It looks on the TV. The gift shop sell fascinating stuff at reasonable prices and next door the food is not to bad at all.Worth the visit yes, yes ,yes ,.in spades yes

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enola Gay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

if you have any interest in the history of airflight, this is the place to be - engines from the beginning designs, model planes, and the Enola Gay are all here. My only complaint is the cost of parking went up to $15 and you now have to pay to park after 4pm to go to the IMAX theater, which has some great movies. There are some interactive displays kids from 5 on up would enjoy, but kids under 8-10 age range may be bored after about an hour, so hit the important displays instead of every display.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Most people see the Air and Space Museum on the Mall.
Flying geeks have to see the massive museum by Dulles Airport.
They have a FULL-SIZED Concorde plane inside the museum - really, a huge hanger where you see zillions of planes from all eras. From the Concorde to helicopters to ultralights - they are all here.

You know who you are - if you are reading this review you have to visit this attraction.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spectacular museum that is sure to impress young and old alike! Allow at least 4 hours to do these displays justice. Much more impressive than the Air and Space Museum on the mall in D.C. because there is so much more room to display all this exceptional technology. Highlights were the black bird and the space shuttle. Seeing those and walking all the way around them is a terrific experience.

Two things to be aware of ..... Admission is free, but there's a $15 parking fee. And the only eating venue was a MacDonalds! That was the only negative for us. We wished we had taken our own food so we could have had a decent lunch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.