We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
594 reviews
340 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Steven F Who ???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a far sighted and generous person Mr Udvar-Hazy IS ! Had no idea this place existed till l was tipped off by someone else when talking about the National Air & Space Museum.This is definetly a worthy rival and as a plane nut this probably just pips the NA&SM ! My opinion only. Where do you start , apart from paying your very reasonable $15 parking fee (and hoping it goes to the Museum ) A day after the scandal broke I was aked on entering "do you need a receipt ?" Stupidly I said "No thanks" !! The Centre is brilliant , with way too much for me to pay justice to it. Suffice to say some of the highlights are the Space Shuttle, SR71 , The Air France Concorde , the B-29 Enola Gay and my personal favourites the P-40 & F-4U that greet you at the top of the stairs !! Could spend a lot more time and next time won't take the missus !!
Good one Steven and best of luck to the future for the Centre !!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,721
    309
    38
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great place to see some of the larger aircraft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Wonderfully laid out this facility is large enough to show some of the Smithsonian's larger aircraft. Great place to wonder through and quietly read the information plaques.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We went as part of a thanksgiving trip. My son and I love this stuff and my wife indulges us. Amazing array of aircraft, many hung as though in flight. This is the best air museum we have visited, and admission is free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
263 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“For planes, this is better than the main muesum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a gem. Had time to kill for two hours. I was blown away. The main thing to see of course is the space shuttle Discovery. I have seen the trainers, but seeing the real thing was very cool. They do a great job showing the planes. The Concorde, German WWII planes, and the Elola Gay. Would go back in a heart beat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“History of Human Flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Outstanding tour guides and displays including the Discovery Shuttle. Displays explain the details extremely well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.