We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Pkwy, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 9 attractions in Chantilly
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums, Science Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We went as part of a thanksgiving trip. My son and I love this stuff and my wife indulges us. Amazing array of aircraft, many hung as though in flight. This is the best air museum we have visited, and admission is free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    193
    24
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“For planes, this is better than the main muesum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a gem. Had time to kill for two hours. I was blown away. The main thing to see of course is the space shuttle Discovery. I have seen the trainers, but seeing the real thing was very cool. They do a great job showing the planes. The Concorde, German WWII planes, and the Elola Gay. Would go back in a heart beat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“History of Human Flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Outstanding tour guides and displays including the Discovery Shuttle. Displays explain the details extremely well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Free, except for parking! You don't need to be an aviation nerd to enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this air museum located next to Washington Dulles airport! The space shuttle Discovery is now permanently on exhibit along with other space satellites and rockets. There is a fantastic collection of airplanes, helicopters, gliders arranged by period, from the beginning of aviation to WWI, WWII, Korean and Vietnam war. Along with the Discovery, SR-71, Concorde and F14 are the must-see! Free tours are given approximately every 20 minutes.

Other attractions in the museum include a tower to watch the takeoffs and landings at Dulles airport, and IMAX theatre and various simulators which charge extra. Food on premises is a McDonalds. I've been to the Intrepid museum in NY and the Midway in San Diego. This was my favorite amongst them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Visiting with my son and this is even better than the one in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is huge. It has a very large number of airplanes (perhaps this is why they built this large hanger adjacent to Dulles airport). Lots to see and no one was disappointed at all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.