We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to See; Spend Some Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots to See; Spend Some Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The main attractions here are the aircraft -- from hang gliders to the Discovery Space Shuttle and everything in between -- all on display in the cavernous space. There are artifacts such as engines and pilot clothing, etc. I'm a "local,: and have been here 3 times. Be aware that you must pay for parking, but admission is free.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,794
    324
    42
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Much better than the Mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went to see the Shuttle and had a great visit. We got to see the Concorde and way more planes than are at the site on the mall. Definitely take the drive to see this if you are all interested in air and space travel.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Kids Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

So many historic aircraft in one spot. Actually getting up close to the Space Shuttle and so many other neat items was incredible.
Really easy to get to and pleasant to visit. Parking can be a pain during high trafic periods, but that is pretty rare.
Staff is helpful and knowledgable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker Hill, West Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend an couple hours.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lots of interesting things to see. If you're into flight and planes, this is something to see. Better than the Air and Space Museum in DC.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Place to Spend Quality Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We absolutely love this place. It was a complete hit with all the age groups and very nicely staffed with knowledgeable people. We took advantage of the free tour and it was so personal and up close. All questions were answered and we were not hurried at all. People from our tour would wonder off, take a quick break, relax and explore and then rejoin up so easily. The IMAX theater was a big hit along with the sheer quality of aircraft displayed. This is a home run and first on my list of places to bring visitors regardless of age. Many of us have dreamed of flight but even the land lovers really enjoy the history and beauty of the aircrafts displayed.
Make sure and have a good meal or snacks before arriving if you don't like McDonalds but other than that small issue we love it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.