We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to spend an couple hours.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 attractions in Chantilly
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums, Science Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bunker Hill, West Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend an couple hours.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lots of interesting things to see. If you're into flight and planes, this is something to see. Better than the Air and Space Museum in DC.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,111
    211
    25
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place to Spend Quality Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We absolutely love this place. It was a complete hit with all the age groups and very nicely staffed with knowledgeable people. We took advantage of the free tour and it was so personal and up close. All questions were answered and we were not hurried at all. People from our tour would wonder off, take a quick break, relax and explore and then rejoin up so easily. The IMAX theater was a big hit along with the sheer quality of aircraft displayed. This is a home run and first on my list of places to bring visitors regardless of age. Many of us have dreamed of flight but even the land lovers really enjoy the history and beauty of the aircrafts displayed.
Make sure and have a good meal or snacks before arriving if you don't like McDonalds but other than that small issue we love it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What a great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent the day at this centre. I smiled many times inspired by the pioneering spirit of humans. The collection is thoughtfully presented in order to bring the achievements into perspective.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“off we go into the wild blue yonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Museums usually just display stuff, This place ties each of the aircraft displayed to an era and the people involved. A can't miss experience if you are an airplane fan

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

So many aircraft to see... so little time. Bring your walking shoes & sense of awe! I went both before the shuttle & after the shuttle came to rest there - it was just amazing to be able to stand close enough to touch the craft that had flown so many missions. I could go back again & again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center to your Saves list