We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$39*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“What a great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent the day at this centre. I smiled many times inspired by the pioneering spirit of humans. The collection is thoughtfully presented in order to bring the achievements into perspective.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,509
    277
    32
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“off we go into the wild blue yonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Museums usually just display stuff, This place ties each of the aircraft displayed to an era and the people involved. A can't miss experience if you are an airplane fan

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

So many aircraft to see... so little time. Bring your walking shoes & sense of awe! I went both before the shuttle & after the shuttle came to rest there - it was just amazing to be able to stand close enough to touch the craft that had flown so many missions. I could go back again & again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SO great for young and old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

So many aircraft to see... so little time. Bring your walking shoes & sense of awe! I went both before the shuttle & after the shuttle came to rest there - it was just amazing to be able to stand close enough to touch the craft that had flown so many missions. I could go back again & again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

great place for Imax movies. makes a nice day experience to tour the museum & then take in a great movie. We saw Batman & Harry Potter movies & it was worth the extra cost.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.