We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO great for young and old!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Chantilly
Type: Science Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SO great for young and old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

So many aircraft to see... so little time. Bring your walking shoes & sense of awe! I went both before the shuttle & after the shuttle came to rest there - it was just amazing to be able to stand close enough to touch the craft that had flown so many missions. I could go back again & again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,316
    246
    26
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

great place for Imax movies. makes a nice day experience to tour the museum & then take in a great movie. We saw Batman & Harry Potter movies & it was worth the extra cost.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What an amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We love this place, it's always first on our list to take visitors and they are all "gob-smacked" - everything in here is just jaw dropping. They have wonderful events too, such as Halloween with everyone in costume the children love thins like storm ship troopers wondering around along with R2D2, games, crafts etc. Not forgetting the IMAX theatre - don't miss this place!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing place, but pack a picnic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

THis museum is simple spectacular, if you like planes that is. It really is very well done. The layout is great, the quality of exhibits amaizng and the staff are phenominally helpful.

The only issue is the food. The only choice is McDonalds, which for a museum in the middle of no where with no other choices is terrible. Many children visiting will be forced to eat the food and I think it is a disgrace. I have emailed the museum to let them know, although from talking with the staff there, it seems they all agree and this is an ongoing issue. Pack a packed lunch with you!

Were it not for this, I would give this 5 stars. The actually museum is amazing, but we were there on a 5 hour stop over, my wife is pregnant and all we could eat was McDonalds, and even the salads wihtout dressing and pretty bad for you!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osterville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a great museum for anyone that has an interest in aviation.
A great way to spend a morning or afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.