We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much Money for Too Little Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center
14390 Air and Space Museum Parkway, Chantilly, VA 20151
703-572-4118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Chantilly
Type: Science Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bristow, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too Much Money for Too Little Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This would be a very good museum if you did not have to pay so much for parking, outrageous. I understand they don't want the airport crowd to park there but it is far enough from the airport to avoid that. $6 would be more reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    246
    26
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Shuttle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

You can go and stand right next to the SPACE SHUTTLE! Need I say more? How impressive it is to walk around and sometimes"under" the shuttle! I would suggest taking anyone of any age to experience this. While you are there you can also see the Concord, the Pan Am "Clipper" and what we thought was neat seeing them restore airplanes piece by piece in the new restoration facility. It was a wonderful way to spend time with the family over the Thanksgiving holiday! There is no fee to get in just for parking in the huge lot.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“MUST SEE FOR AVIATION FANS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It has been a goal for me to visit this museum. Being an aviation geek, this was paradise for me.

Really enjoyed my time at the Udvar-Hazy center. This is a must visit for those who are in the aviation industry, and those who have a keen interest to learn more about aviation.

LOVE THIS PLACE.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Plane and space geeks will love this place. The number of planes they have there is incredible and diverse and there are some pretty historic vehicles there.

Obviously the star attraction is Discovery and it doesn't disappoint. The whole section on space is very well done and full of great artefacts.

I didn't take a tour, but the snippets I heard from them as I went round gave me the impression that the guides have a great knowledge of all the planes and items in the museum.

It's not the easiest place to get to from DC, but it's worth a trip out there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Well Worth It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This has a few things that the Air & Space Museum in downtown DC, such as Space Shuttle & SR-71A Blackbird. Lots of other interesting planes & rockets to see as well. Just don't go on the 3D ride to the space lab as it's really hokey & seems like a bad 20-year old video game.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.