We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best thai around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smile Thai Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smile Thai Cuisine
24650 Southpoint Dr. #150, Chantilly, VA 20152
703 327 9660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 127 Restaurants in Chantilly
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
1 review
“best thai around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

try the crispy flounder with chile garlic sauce!!! Its worth the wait and they have home delivery too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Enjoyed a nice dinner at Smile Thai. The restaurant is located in a small strip mall just off the highway. The place was clean and the staff was very friendly. The food was delivered hot and was very good for the price. I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly family Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This friendly little Thai restaurant is worth finding, tucked into a small shopping strip at the intersection of Route 50 and Gum Spring Road. (You enter the parking lot from Gum Spring.) You will probably be greeted by the owners, who are happy to explain any dish on the menu or make suggestions for your meal. Don't hesitate to ask for an adjustment in the level of spice in any dish you order, and you will be offered a selection of condiments to adjust the heat in your dish at the table as well. We have been happy with everything we've ordered here, the tastes are bright and flavorful. They also seem to do a good take-out business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really good Thai near South Riding, Stone Ridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The review title really says it all. First and foremost, the food was excellent. It was delicious and prepared fresh which makes a huge difference in taste. That would be enough right there for me to come back. One of the owners recommended the Chili Thai Basil (2 on a scale of 3 for spicy). I ordered it with chicken, which was really good. It'll be good for lunch tomorrow too!

I stopped in on a Sunday night. I'd known that the restaurant was here, but I was surprised to learn they'd been open for almost a year! All those missed opportunities! The folks running the place were nice and the best description I can give is that they make it feel like a neighborhood restaurant. That's something I really miss living out here in the 'burbs of Northern Virginia.

It's located in the shopping center at the intersection of Gum Spring Rd and Rt 50. The whole shopping center is a bit hidden by greenery and the whole complex looks like it was purposely overbuilt to accommodate all of the development that was going on in the area a few years back (and probably will pick up again). Because of that, it appears a little "empty". But don't be put off ... you'll miss out on some seriously good Thai food. This is my new go-to place for Thai near home.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrific food, friendly family run place, reasonably priced, very clean! We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We found this gem on a local Wash. D.C. online review site. We were starving after a cross country flight, so we stopped here on the way from Dulles Airport to Wash. D.C. It's located in a small strip mall, so don't miss it as you drive by. The owner greeted us warmly, we had fabulous dishes-vegetarian, chicken and shrimp. Two of us love spicy food, so we ordered the food designated with three chilis, while another member of our party was very happy with a less spicier dish. Do try the homemade mango ice cream for dessert-it's healthy, made with non-fat dairy and no sugar-and absolutely spectacular in flavor!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smile Thai Cuisine also viewed

Chantilly, Fairfax County
Chantilly, Fairfax County
 

Been to Smile Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smile Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.