We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haaa! Nooo! Don't Try it, I already did!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4050 Westfax Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The HHonors Weekend
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Chantilly
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Haaa! Nooo! Don't Try it, I already did!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked this hotel on the morning of 15th August preparation to my flight to Africa enroute Washington Dulles, due to the distance of the airport to my residence, I decided to do an overnight since the hotel offered airport shuttle. Total bill for one night being 15th -16th inclusive of charges and taxes was offered at $75:00 if I prepay in full. Of course I took the full prepayment option via credit card. I arrived at hotel on the night of 15th August at about 11pm and took my luggage weighing a total of 136 pounds in three carrier bags. I was grossly tired. Check in was handled by a certain lady who immediately informed me that the confirmation on the system for my stay was for 29-30th of August 2013, I was shocked of course and insisted that I made a booking for the 15th August. Anyway, she went further to inform me that if I planned to lodge in the hotel that night I would have to make payment in full for a total sum of $155 for the night , over 100% of the earlier charge on the Internet which I paid for and she confirmed was non refundable as the advance payment team are separate from their hotel group. I complained but had no choice than to check in for the night with the intention to call Hilton Honors and my bank in the morning. I paid and was handed a key, NO BELLHOP, the Trolleys were bad, I almost had an accident with the trolleys, returned them back and pushed my luggage s up, thank God for wheels. Upon arriving indoors, I decided to investigate my booking track and also checked my Hhonors account only to discover than the system generated a single confirmation for two dates, the first was 15th August while the second was 29th, how that could have happened is mystery to me, I therefore headed back downstairs and shown the Hhonors confirmation to the front desk reps, who stood their ground and insisted they had done the right thing. I was handed a card supposedly that of the Hotel Manager who was currently indisposed and would arrive at 9am the following morning and should be able to advise me on a best line of action. I returned to the room having registered my utmost dissatisfaction withering services. I had to put a call to Hilton Honors Guest Assistance and spoke with a Dorothy Lister who immediately put a cancellation call through to the Advance Payment people, but advised that my refunds may take about 4 weeks to return to my Credit Card. I honored my obligations at this hotel with a determination never to stray into any Hampton Inn ever again in my life on planet earth. I felt like I was being defrauded and they had no remedy whatsoever for their poor service. This hotel had tired carpets and in dire need of attention, a great drawback for the Hilton name. This is a definite NO GO hotel for me again, a motel would have been better. You cant win it all can you?

Room Tip: I have no comments for anyone who choose to go to this hotel having read my review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonDullesCascade, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear OlaS4,

I would like to thank you for your sincere feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was less than satisfactory, as we strive for all of our guests to have an exceptional experience. I assure you that this is not a normal occurrence at our hotel. We would like for you to give us another opportunity to better serve your needs. Again, we thank you for your candid feedback and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

Leandra James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    59
    20
    14
    5
See reviews for
66
46
18
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Near Manassas Battlefield, Air and Space Museum, Dulles airport and main travel arteries to Washington DC. Restaurants nearby. Clean and friendly staff with a nice breakfast selection to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. The breakfast could have used some better eggs, but overall it was good. My husband and daughter enjoyed the pool and the noon check out time is great, especially with a little baby who needs her morning nap. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stay at this hotel several times a year for business. It is always clean, the staff is always friendly, and the breakfast is great. It's nearby a Target shopping center and several restaurants. The only (small) issue is trying to get in and out of the road it's on (mostly trying to get in) because there is not a red light on that intersection. If you are looking to drive into DC, it's a pretty easy drive, but a bit too far if you are looking to sightsee in the city every day. My last stay was in September 2012 during the lobby renovations, so I can't wait to go back and see the updates!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Classic Hampton but service elevates the Hampton experience to a new level. Very accommodating and pleasant staff. Nice room, breakfast sack as we departed at 4:30 AM. Even had a diamond parking spot!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I recently lodged at this Hampton Inn in Chantilly that was chosen for its reasonable cost and location near Dulles International Airport. It had a bit of a worn-out look but was fairly clean and the inclusive breakfast was decent.

However, we encountered a significant problem regarding noise intruding into our room. The door closures and locks for the rooms were such that they could not be closed without causing an extremely loud bang. Consequently, we were jolted in our room every time a door in our area was opened and closed. In addition, the soundproofing was very poor as the conversations of the party in the adjacent room could clearly be heard through the connecting doors even though the people conversed at a moderate volume level. As a result of all this, we had a poor sleep experience and would not lodge there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonDullesSouth, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello ChiMike606,

I would like to thank you for your sincere feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was less than satisfactory as we strive for all our guests to have an exceptional experience.

I realize your experience did not meet your expectations and we would like for you to give us another opportunity to better serve your needs. Again, we thank you for your candid feedback and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

Leandra James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The staff at this hotel make you feel like family! Neda and Mary at the front desk care for your every need as a traveller.

The breakfast buffet is wonderful and the two concierges make you feel that you are a valued guest and greet you with a smile and see that the buffet is always replenished.

A great place to stay for one night or many nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South

Address: 4050 Westfax Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chantilly
#1 Green Hotel in Chantilly
#3 Business Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Washington Dulles Airport South Hotel is located just 12 minutes from Washington Dulles Airport. This Hampton Inn Dulles Airport hotel is situated in the heart of Chantilly in Fairfax County, near the Herndon Reston community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int`l Airport South Hotel Chantilly
Hampton Inn Chantilly
Chantilly Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.