We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4050 Westfax Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
GreenLeadersGold level
Carnesville, Georgia
1 review
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was the worst experience with a motel i've had in 55 years of travel. Staff doesn't have a clue what they were doing at check out. Paid for room with cash after reserving room with card. The card was charged for the amount of stay as well as the cash payment. When it was brought to their attention the next day the were suppose to remove the charge from the card instead they charged it again. I has been 4 days now and still the charges to the card hasn't been corrected. Looks like we may have to complain to corperate headquarters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonDullesSouth, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello stephanie r,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Dulles South for your stay and for providing us feedback! We appreciate every feedback given as we are constantly striving to improve the level of service offered by the hotel and its team members.

I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the belling issue you experienced. I can imagine how unpleasant it must have been. I have spoken to you this morning and rectified the billing issue. You can rest assured that the situation you have described is not indicative of the Hotel’s standards and we consider this situation to be acceptable. We will be re-training our Guest Services Personnel in order to increase our billing accuracy and guests’ experience with us.

We have enjoyed having you as our Guest and we hope that you come back to see us again so that we can show your our true hospitality!

Regards,
Rodrigo Ribeiro Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    75
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
88
61
22
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I've stayed at this Hampton Inn multiple times over the last 4 years, and it just keeps improving! My first stay had me wondering if I had made a bad location choice, as it's smack in the middle of a very industrial area. Additionally, flights arriving at/departing from Dulles can up the background noise. Significantly. But the hotel is clean, comfortable, and conveniently located to Dulles, Fairfax/Chantilly, and the several contractor/government facilities in the area around it. I've stayed in both double and king rooms, and recommend either, as long as the room is on the east side of the hotel -- the west side rooms (facing the Pepsi plant) get the most aircraft noise. Very friendly staff -- they make you welcome, are always smiling, and are willing to accommodate your requests. Yes, it's an older Hampton, but the furnishings look renovated -- the bathroom was clean, the hot water plentiful, the flat screen TV crisp and clear on most channels, and the WiFi service was easy and quick to use. The rates were surprisingly low given the location (maybe I shouldn't have said that?). I heartily recommend this Hampton Inn for business travelers looking for something close to Dulles and the contractor/federal corridor out by Fairfax! There are some good food options in the local area as well, including ethic Indian, Thai and Hispanic just half a block away. Breakfast at the hotel is traditional Hampton Inn -- good, but not premium. If you don't like anything they offer, perhaps you're looking for a Hilton or Embassy Suites...

Room Tip: West side gets aircraft noise, so ask for a room on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are Hampton regulars and stayed 2 nights at this property with 2 rooms. The good news for this property :
1) The Staff are amazing and VERY VERY friendly front desk service.
2) The Shuttle to the museum and other close locations is GREAT !
3) The rooms are clean
4) Nice & large breakfast spot with fresh cut fruit offered at the tables.
5) Comfy beds and & pillows.

Some weak spots :
1) Property accepts dogs so be prepared for barking and some smells and noises.
2) Rooms are somewhat dated with sinks outside the room which some people may not like.
3) Older looking rooms

Overall, happy with our stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a pleasant stay here while in the area for two days of business. Well trained staff was easy to work with, room was clean, bed was comfortable, internet worked well and breakfast was typical Hampton breakfast - better than a cold breakfast with several hot items, but not as good as a made to order hot breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The accommodations were good and clean, and the staff was very friendly. They have a nice shuttle service that will take you to some local restaurants and then come and pick you up. The breakfast was just "ok", but I wasn't there for the food anyway.

However, my MAJOR complaint was the huge wedding party that was staying at the hotel, and was so out of control that the staff couldn't even handle them. I called the front desk multiple times between 12:30am and 2:30am with no answer. I even went down to the front desk at 2:30am before confronting the party but there was no one to be found. Because the hallway partying was still going at 2:30am with no end in sight I had to confront the fifteen or so, drunk, 20-somethings that were in the hallway myself - and as you can imagine that only made them louder.

You can walk along the 3 lane highway to get to a few plazas but not with children in tow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonDullesSouth, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Good Morning Kwoward67!

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Dulles South for your stay and for providing us feedback! We appreciate every feedback given as we are constantly striving to improve the level of service offered by the hotel and its team members. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the noise you experienced during your stay! I can imagine how unpleasant it was to be awaken at 2 in the morning with drunk guests! You can be assured that the situation you described is not indicative of the Hotel’s standards nor we consider this situation to be acceptable. We will be re-training our Guest Services Personnel in order to increase hotel security to avoid noise issues. We have enjoyed having you as out guest as we hope that you come back to see us again so that we can show you our true hospitality!

Regards,
Rodrigo Ribeiro
Assistant General Manager Hampton Inn Dulles South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We arrived at Dulles and phoned for the shuttle which arrived within 10 minutes. Hotel staff all welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. They gave us some great advice about getting into downtown DC. We used their free shuttle to the nearby Udvar-Hazy, which again was a quick, reliable service. Room was clean, cool (despite outside temperatures of nearly 100 degrees) and a great size. Breakfast was plentiful and set us up for the day, with plenty of choice. No restaurant at the hotel, but we were offered a free shuttle ride to restaurants within a 3 mile radius. Would definitely stay here again, was a great way to start our holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sofa bed are no extra cost, and give a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel was fine...a standard Hampton Inn. I was there for the park and fly though, which turned out to be a bad choice. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport, but somehow they kept me and my family waiting for over 45 minutes in the 90 plus heat for shuttle pick up. That after they told us that they would be there "in 15 minutes...no later than 20." I had to call back two more times before the shuttle finally arrived. There was no traffic, and I saw the shuttles for other nearby hotels come twice during my wait. There is no excuse...I certainly wouldn't use them for a park and fly again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashDCHotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello 41378Mike!

I extend my sincere appreciation for time spent to bring your concern to our attention.

I am sorry we failed to meet your expectation with regards to the shuttle service, upon your return. You can be assured that the situations you describe are not indicative of the Hotel’s standards, nor do we consider such situations to be acceptable. We will be re-training our Guest service associates and well as out Hotel Drivers on the increasing their communication and timeliness of the shuttle.

We enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area.

Leandra James
General Manager Hampton Inn Dulles Airport South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South

Address: 4050 Westfax Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chantilly
#1 Family Hotel in Chantilly
#1 Green Hotel in Chantilly
#2 Business Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Washington Dulles Airport South Hotel is located just 12 minutes from Washington Dulles Airport. This Hampton Inn Dulles Airport hotel is situated in the heart of Chantilly in Fairfax County, near the Herndon Reston community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int`l Airport South Hotel Chantilly
Hampton Inn Chantilly
Chantilly Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.