We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly staff but dogs permitted & older property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4050 Westfax Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great friendly staff but dogs permitted & older property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are Hampton regulars and stayed 2 nights at this property with 2 rooms. The good news for this property :
1) The Staff are amazing and VERY VERY friendly front desk service.
2) The Shuttle to the museum and other close locations is GREAT !
3) The rooms are clean
4) Nice & large breakfast spot with fresh cut fruit offered at the tables.
5) Comfy beds and & pillows.

Some weak spots :
1) Property accepts dogs so be prepared for barking and some smells and noises.
2) Rooms are somewhat dated with sinks outside the room which some people may not like.
3) Older looking rooms

Overall, happy with our stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    97
    38
    18
    7
See reviews for
122
71
30
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had a pleasant stay here while in the area for two days of business. Well trained staff was easy to work with, room was clean, bed was comfortable, internet worked well and breakfast was typical Hampton breakfast - better than a cold breakfast with several hot items, but not as good as a made to order hot breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The accommodations were good and clean, and the staff was very friendly. They have a nice shuttle service that will take you to some local restaurants and then come and pick you up. The breakfast was just "ok", but I wasn't there for the food anyway.

However, my MAJOR complaint was the huge wedding party that was staying at the hotel, and was so out of control that the staff couldn't even handle them. I called the front desk multiple times between 12:30am and 2:30am with no answer. I even went down to the front desk at 2:30am before confronting the party but there was no one to be found. Because the hallway partying was still going at 2:30am with no end in sight I had to confront the fifteen or so, drunk, 20-somethings that were in the hallway myself - and as you can imagine that only made them louder.

You can walk along the 3 lane highway to get to a few plazas but not with children in tow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonDullesSouth, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Good Morning Kwoward67!

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Dulles South for your stay and for providing us feedback! We appreciate every feedback given as we are constantly striving to improve the level of service offered by the hotel and its team members. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the noise you experienced during your stay! I can imagine how unpleasant it was to be awaken at 2 in the morning with drunk guests! You can be assured that the situation you described is not indicative of the Hotel’s standards nor we consider this situation to be acceptable. We will be re-training our Guest Services Personnel in order to increase hotel security to avoid noise issues. We have enjoyed having you as out guest as we hope that you come back to see us again so that we can show you our true hospitality!

Regards,
Rodrigo Ribeiro
Assistant General Manager Hampton Inn Dulles South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We arrived at Dulles and phoned for the shuttle which arrived within 10 minutes. Hotel staff all welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. They gave us some great advice about getting into downtown DC. We used their free shuttle to the nearby Udvar-Hazy, which again was a quick, reliable service. Room was clean, cool (despite outside temperatures of nearly 100 degrees) and a great size. Breakfast was plentiful and set us up for the day, with plenty of choice. No restaurant at the hotel, but we were offered a free shuttle ride to restaurants within a 3 mile radius. Would definitely stay here again, was a great way to start our holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sofa bed are no extra cost, and give a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel was fine...a standard Hampton Inn. I was there for the park and fly though, which turned out to be a bad choice. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport, but somehow they kept me and my family waiting for over 45 minutes in the 90 plus heat for shuttle pick up. That after they told us that they would be there "in 15 minutes...no later than 20." I had to call back two more times before the shuttle finally arrived. There was no traffic, and I saw the shuttles for other nearby hotels come twice during my wait. There is no excuse...I certainly wouldn't use them for a park and fly again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashDCHotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hello 41378Mike!

I extend my sincere appreciation for time spent to bring your concern to our attention.

I am sorry we failed to meet your expectation with regards to the shuttle service, upon your return. You can be assured that the situations you describe are not indicative of the Hotel’s standards, nor do we consider such situations to be acceptable. We will be re-training our Guest service associates and well as out Hotel Drivers on the increasing their communication and timeliness of the shuttle.

We enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area.

Leandra James
General Manager Hampton Inn Dulles Airport South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly. The front desk staff was extremely accommodating. They gave us directions, advice about the Metro. One person even helped me read something off my iPod. The only negative in the hotel was that the breakfast area was crowded. Other than that I would call this hotel a keeper.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed there recently for 5 days. It is located about 15 minutes from Dulles Airport. I found the rooms to be in good condition and the staff to be friendly and helpful. No problem with a late checkout when I requested one.

There is no restaurant in the hotel but there are several reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel. A decent breakfast is available for free. Coffee is available all day by reception.

Wireless Internet is available and throughput is decent. Only annoying thing is that the system knocks you off if you are inactive even for a few minutes - as do many other hotels to conserve bandwidth.

You need to phone the hotel for the shuttle van which is available 24 hours a day. I suggest you phone when deplaning and go outside to 2H and wait for it, it normally takes about 15 minutes. Note there is also a Hampton Inn Dulles North - so make sure you get the right shuttle van. Allow 30 minutes for return to airport during rush hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chantilly
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly - Fairfax / Dulles Airport
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Dulles Airport Chantilly
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dulles Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South

Address: 4050 Westfax Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chantilly
#1 Green Hotel in Chantilly
#2 Family Hotel in Chantilly
#3 Business Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Washington Dulles Airport South Hotel is located just 12 minutes from Washington Dulles Airport. This Hampton Inn Dulles Airport hotel is situated in the heart of Chantilly in Fairfax County, near the Herndon Reston community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int`l Airport South Hotel Chantilly
Hampton Inn Chantilly
Chantilly Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.