We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4050 Westfax Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chantilly
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here one night to be close to the airport for an early am flight. This hotel more than served it's purpose. The desk staff super friendly, the hotel modern and clean, great complimentary breakfast, and free shuttle service to the airport. In addition, we used a Groupon for parking in their lot while we were gone. This included picking us up when we returned. They were so accommodating and our car was safe and sound when we returned. Will definitely stay here again when flying out of Dulles!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear PriceIsAlwaysRight,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We love hearing from our guests.

It is great to hear you were able to take advantage of our special park and fly promotion and let us help you get to the airport for your early flight. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the room, breakfast and that the team was able to really make you feel at home.

We hope to see you again soon when you are in the area next time.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles Airport South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    96
    38
    18
    7
See reviews for
122
70
30
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
G-town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as stopover to see the Air and Space Smithsonian and travel back home. It's clean, well priced and in a good location near restaurants and attractions. Best of all, this hotel is a great deal.

Room Tip: Within 5 minutes of the Air and Space Smithsonian
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Hello Gundelsploom,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our great location and amenities. We are also happy that you got such a great value for your stay as well.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles Airport South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Events in Middleburg, stayed here. A ways away...but the Hotel
itself was wonderful. VERY quiet and well maintained.
Staff extremely helpful. Rooms spacious and quiet.
Breakfast Very good. Wonderful hot tub.
Prices better that any B&B in Middleburg!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear attyjim,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love hearing from our guests and their opinions are very important to us.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to make you feel right at home. It is great that you were able to take advantage of some of the great amenities at the hotel such as breakfast and the whirlpool spa and relax.

We are looking forward to having another chance to serve you when you are in the area next!

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles Airport South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel right after arriving in the Washington DC area at Dulles. We had a little difficulty getting the shuttle from the airport - that probably had more to do with the layout of the Dulles airport than the hotel. Though, when I called the hotel to ask about the shuttle, no one picked up the phone - twice!! Eventually we got through and they directed us to the right shuttle stop.

There's another Hampton Inn north of the airport, so make sure you get the right shuttle. The ride to the hotel takes about 15 minutes.

Room was nice, quiet. They had the standard breakfast in the morning, and I thought it was fine. The food was fresh and had lots of choices.

The furnishings looked new, and everything was clean. My only complaint is that the room had a nightlight that was way to bright. That's easily remedied - just unplug it! The room was laid out nicely, with a desk, free Wifi, and lots of power outlets. That was terrific - their bedside tables and lamp bases all have plug-in spots. They are set up for people with lots of electronic gadgets that need charging.

Like many hotels right now, they are following the trend where the bed linens consist of a sheet and a duvet. I don't like this trend, but I can't fault Hampton for doing this....every hotel does it right now. I don't like it because a sheet is too thin on its own, and the duvet makes it too hot to sleep. This hotel did have an extra regular blanket in the room, which made it more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hello rikrax,

Thank you very much for providing us some really great feedback about your stay. We love hearing from our guests so we can always improve your experience with us.

We are glad to hear that overall you had a great stay and were able to relax and enjoy yourself. I would like to start by apologizing for the front desk not picking up the phone right away, this is definitely not typical at the hotel and we will make sure it doesn’t happen again. We are glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast and the other amenities in the room.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you!

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles Airport South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Was not planning to get a hotel, but my plans had changed and I had to stay in DC for a couple more days. My flight is going out from Dulles so I looked around for hotels in the area. I looked for hotels close to the airport and there are a bunch to choose from. I decided to go for the Hampton Inn Dulles south. I was, at first, hesitant but then I was glad I chose this hotel. Everything, and i mean everything went surpiringly pleasant. My check-in was a beeze, the front desk staff was very nice. Also, i love the cookies they offered me. Yum!!! And i was surprised that the assistand general manager was in the lobby greeting the guest. He was very attentive and nice. That was a major plus for this hotel having a high level person making the guest feel welcome. Its a good feeling i tell you, specially having been in meetings and running around DC traffic these past few days. I would definetly come back to this hotel again. I come to DC often and i use Dulles, so now i have a new favorite hotel to stay at. Its a great value, too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Hello Casey A,

Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay with us recently. We take all of our guests’ feedback seriously so that we can always improve our guests’ experience and really make people feel at home when they walk in.

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel from the many in the Dulles Airport area. The entire team is very happy to hear that you had such a great stay! We know that the real difference between an alright stay and a really great one is attention to detail. We try to make sure that our entire team, from the general manager all the way down, is always doing what they can for our guests to make their stay even better.

I will make sure to pass along your compliments to the team. We are looking forward to your next trip to the Dulles/Sterling area when we will have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles Airport South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn recently. The hotel is in a great location, about 10 minutes from the airport. Their shuttle service is also very accessible and the driver was very helpful. We checked in late and were welcomed by a friendly agent. The bed in the room was very comfortable and the room was clean. I will stay there again the next time I fly to Dulles International.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Traveler T,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

It is great to hear that you had such a great time staying with us and that our team was able to make you feel welcomed. We know how stressful traveling can be and arriving late can really add a lot of unnecessary stress so we do whatever we can to help our guests out.

We are looking forward to your next flight to Dulles when we will have another opportunity to serve you!

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles Airport South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the hotel a total of 4 days. The hotel looked nice, the staff was very curious and helpful. It was in a good area and the transportation van proved very helpful. The unfortunate part of are trip was when I began to develop very itchy little bumps along my arm, and on other parts of my body. I alerted the manager to the bed bug problem and showed her my bumps. We were able to switch rooms but then my daughter developed the same issue; I checked out the next day. I contacted the general manager L. James 2x's after check out regarding a refund and got no response at all. I had to contact a lawyer.

Room Tip: Always look for discount codes on Google
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear C L,

First and foremost we would like to deeply apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your trip. We can assure you that your experience at our hotel was an aberration and not consistent with the majority of our guests.

However, having said that, it is our highest priority to address all the issues that you described in your review, and we promise that we are doing just that!

In fact, as soon as we received your feedback we immediately completed multiple inspections of the room you stayed in, including a thorough inspection from Steritech, the number one bed bug inspection and protection company in the industry. And as a result we are extremely relieved to say that there was absolutely no evidence of bed bugs in your room.

However, that doesn’t change the fact that you have irritation of some kind on your skin; so for that we deeply apologize. It was for that reason that we left the guest amenity and hand-written apology note in your room while you were staying with us.

Regarding our general manager’s responsiveness, she has been in touch with you twice since the time of your stay, including the first time being within 24 hours of your initial communication.

And as for your refund, as you know we have already refunded you the full amount that we are capable of. Unfortunately, since your reservation was a Hotels.com transaction, we are not able to refund you the payment that you submitted to Hotels.com. All of those details and restrictions were communicated to you from Hotels.com at the time of your transaction. However, we have reached out to Hotels.com and understand that they have indeed refunded your money. Regardless, we deeply apologize for any misunderstanding regarding your refund.

Having said all that, thank you very much for your business, and more importantly for your feedback; we take all of our guests’ feedback very seriously so that we can continuously improve our service.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove to you that we are committed to providing our guests with everything they expect, plus a little more.

Sincerely,
The Hampton Inn Dulles Airport South Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chantilly
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chantilly - Fairfax / Dulles Airport
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chantilly / Dulles Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chantilly - Dulles Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Chantilly Dulles South
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Dulles Airport Chantilly
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Washington Dulles Airport South/Chantilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South

Address: 4050 Westfax Drive, Chantilly, VA 20151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Chantilly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chantilly
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chantilly
#2 Family Hotel in Chantilly
#3 Business Hotel in Chantilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Washington Dulles Airport South Hotel is located just 12 minutes from Washington Dulles Airport. This Hampton Inn Dulles Airport hotel is situated in the heart of Chantilly in Fairfax County, near the Herndon Reston community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int`l Airport South Hotel Chantilly
Hampton Inn Chantilly
Chantilly Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington-Dulles Int'l Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.