We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, liked happy hour too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Plaza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alto Plaza
5800 Old Centreville Rd, Centreville, VA 20121
703-266-8811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alto Plaza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 93 Restaurants in Centreville
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Latin, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Intersection of RT28 & RT29
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good food, liked happy hour too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was so confused when this place was being built - trying to figure out what it was going to be!

I have been happy with my food each of the several times I've been there. I consider it a little spendy- would go there to celebrate something, not just an ordinary meal. They also had some decent happy hour food specials.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great addition to the Centreville Scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love this place. It has brought the Latino flavor to Centreville !! Stays open very late on weekdays and especially late in the weekend (2AM ish) . 3 levels of dining - I hear it gets expensive as you keep moving up. I have only dined downstairs - they have tables, lounge, bar - grab a chair or a cozy booth or even the bar stool and service will be fast ! It is right off route 66 at the corner of Rt 28 and Rt 29 (Lee Hwy). Plenty of parking. The music is VERY loud . The food is not bad - you have latino food as well as burger etc. The atmosphere is what I like the most. It makes me feel young again !

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Bland shrimp appetizer, tough short ribs, flavorless guac, uninspiring menu. I will say the service was pretty good though, a very friendly waitress.

I still think the best (and this isn't saying much) Mexican in NOVA is Guapos. Cantina Mexicana in Crystal City is first rate but I don't consider Crystal City as NOVA - it is basically DC.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I enjoyed the food and the place. Service was ok. I was expecting much less because of all the reviews here but I was pleasantly surprised. We were a large group and they were very accommodating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No one cares...Going downhill fast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I ate here in 2011 and the service and food was great. Fast forward to 2012 & 2013 - NOT GOOD. I was reading a bunch of reviews on Yelp and noticed the inconsistency with the service and food were at the top (my two complaints as well). Drinks not getting refilled and bland tasting food are the biggest beefs. I ordered the Chili Rellenos and it had no flavor. Bland, and the Poblano tasted funny - even with a slight smell. Very mushy, and you could tell it wasn't fresh. The rice was dried out too. The salsa and chips were good, but they don't serve plates with this when they bring it to your table. Because of the salsa being runny, it falls on the table - serve little plates!! Oddly, the waitress filled up my friends tea consistently, but not once filled my drink up. I asked for Tabasco, and it came nearly half way through my meal. There were only two tables in the whole place - hardly an excuse for this kind of service. This place is on a downward slope. No one cares, no management, no control. The person whose pockets are funding this place better wake up and reorganize their wait staff and chefs. I hate writing bad reviews, but this was disappointing. Wanna tip? Go a few blocks down the street to the COYOTE GRILL. The Chili Rellenos is to die for. Not too mention the rest of the food and the impeccable service my wife & I received.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alto Plaza also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Alto Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.