We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Lunch Stot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matsu Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Matsu Japanese Restaurant
5635 Stone Rd, Centreville, VA
703-266-7040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 96 Restaurants in Centreville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Lunch Stot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great place to grab lunch. The sushi is great and I really recommend getting the Box B lunch. It's a lot of food for a great price. It's a simple, no frills place to eat, nice and quiet, and good food. There's not much more you can ask for.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I love this place and go maybe two times a month. The service is friendly, the sushi is fresh and very reasonably priced and you get some extras that you normally have to pay for at other places (you get a serving of edamame and some fried wanton things to start your meal). Order the funky roll when you're there... it's a California roll deep-fried tempura style with two types of mayonnaise sauce on them. It's one of my favorite foods ever.

Two warnings though... 1) They are open for lunch and dinner, but they are closed for a few hours in between, so check the hours before you go. 2) It's normally really cold inside, so bring a coat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best sushi/sashimi in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant at least once a month when we lived in South Riding. Or we did take out. Now we don't get there too often. We miss it. The salmon sashimi is always excellent. We usually get sushi or sashimi, but have had the tempura and other dishes which are quite good. The teriyaki dishes have too much onion for me. The tempura batter is usually light and they usually use fresh oil to fry. We love the gyoza and naruto maki (cucumber, crab, egg) appetizers. Service is always excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A mixed performance, but worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a family meal here. The service was friendly and the food was pretty good. On the sushi front, they were out of toro, but the maguro and yellowtail were pretty fresh tasting. The best thing about this place is that the menu covers a lot of the simple popular dishes that some fancier Japanese restaurants do not make. A good example is katsudon. It's very basic food, but I love it, and I was thrilled to see it on the menu. It was pretty good. The curry beef on the other hand was pretty weak. The tempura was excellent - not soggy or greasy tasting. The yakisoba was not as good as you can easily make at home - edible, but not worth crossing the street for. So overall, average but it is really a mix of good and not so good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food here is great and the service is very good. The sushi is reasonably priced and aso very good. I very much reccommend going here.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Matsu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsu Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.