We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsu Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Matsu Japanese Restaurant
5635 Stone Rd, Centreville, VA
703-266-7040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 93 restaurants in Centreville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I love this place and go maybe two times a month. The service is friendly, the sushi is fresh and very reasonably priced and you get some extras that you normally have to pay for at other places (you get a serving of edamame and some fried wanton things to start your meal). Order the funky roll when you're there... it's a California roll deep-fried tempura style with two types of mayonnaise sauce on them. It's one of my favorite foods ever.

Two warnings though... 1) They are open for lunch and dinner, but they are closed for a few hours in between, so check the hours before you go. 2) It's normally really cold inside, so bring a coat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    19
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best sushi/sashimi in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant at least once a month when we lived in South Riding. Or we did take out. Now we don't get there too often. We miss it. The salmon sashimi is always excellent. We usually get sushi or sashimi, but have had the tempura and other dishes which are quite good. The teriyaki dishes have too much onion for me. The tempura batter is usually light and they usually use fresh oil to fry. We love the gyoza and naruto maki (cucumber, crab, egg) appetizers. Service is always excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A mixed performance, but worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a family meal here. The service was friendly and the food was pretty good. On the sushi front, they were out of toro, but the maguro and yellowtail were pretty fresh tasting. The best thing about this place is that the menu covers a lot of the simple popular dishes that some fancier Japanese restaurants do not make. A good example is katsudon. It's very basic food, but I love it, and I was thrilled to see it on the menu. It was pretty good. The curry beef on the other hand was pretty weak. The tempura was excellent - not soggy or greasy tasting. The yakisoba was not as good as you can easily make at home - edible, but not worth crossing the street for. So overall, average but it is really a mix of good and not so good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food here is great and the service is very good. The sushi is reasonably priced and aso very good. I very much reccommend going here.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi in a Great enviornment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I admit to being worried when I moved out to Centreville - I was certain that all the food options would be chains and burger joints.

I was so pleased to find Matsu right in my neighborhood. I've dined there three times now and haven't been disappointed. The sushi is consistently fresh, they completely understand my special requests (none of that mayo-y schmear when I want something spicy and no cucumbers) and the price is very reasonable!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Matsu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsu Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.