We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Great American” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
14250 Sweetwater Ln, Centreville, VA 20121-5336
703-449-1100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Centreville
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Typical Great American”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Around No Va these are go to restaurants. The menus are a little different, but they all have great food. It is a great place for consistent well prepared tasty food. Each place has stand out items on the menu and daily specials.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    64
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty consistent - good food & good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was probably our third time to Sweetwater in the past 2 years. The food is consistently good and the prices are reasonable. I had the Monterey Salad and it was very good. My wife ordered the same and her chicken was not thoroughly cooked, but our waiter brought out a fresh salad and all was good. My mother-in-law had the fried oyster salad and indictaed she would not order that again. Everyone else was well pleased with their selections (fajitas mostly). The portions are big, though, so consider splitting if you're not really hungry. This is still one of our favorites in the DC burbs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I wanted to check out this place because I had heard it was among the better of the Great American Resatuarants group. The wait was extremely long, and so I had very high hopes. I wasn't totally disappointed, but I wasn't overwhelmed either. The selection of bears the night I went was not all that appealing (I don't like pale ales and I think 3 of the 5 choices on draught were pale ales). So i had the #1, which was the light beer thats always available. It was refreshing after waiting outside with 3 antsy kids for 45 mins, but nothing special. The firecracker shrimp appetizer was actually really good, but I wish there are had been more shrimp on the plate. My husband had the ribs, which were average. I had what was advertised as the world's best fajitas (chicken) and that was pretty much a large exaggeration! They weren't bad, but certainly not the best fajitas that I will ever have the plasterer of eating. All in all, this is a decent resturant and is family friendly, but I think Coatal Flats and Jackson's are better options of the GAR group, and were more worth the wait (although Sweetwatern Tavern, as well as the other GAR restaurants seem to do call ahead seating).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

You will not go wrong by picking Sweetwater when you are in the area. I had the ribs and they were very good. Service was excellent although they were very busy. We had to wait for 30 minutes or so but we were glad we did. I look forward to going back there in the future.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia, United States
1 review
“The Rockfish special was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great service and great food! The Rockfish and grits special was to die for as was the Salmon! Made for a great ending to a long week!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.