We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service much improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
14250 Sweetwater Ln, Centreville, VA 20121-5336
703-449-1100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 96 Restaurants in Centreville
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Service much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I reviewed Sweetwater several months ago after a business dinner where we received horrible service. This past week had another business dinner for a party of 12 and the service was much improved! Still don't like their policy that they do not take reservations although you can call ahead and put your name on the list. Also they have mostly booths inside and the tables on the patio are bolted down so you can not make one large table for this big of a party. You can adjacent tables or booths -- bit of a bummer when having a group dinner. Our orders were taken promptly although there was a mix up of salads -- they brought one out wrong and someone ordered the chopped salad as an entre and they brought them the salad portion. By the way the chopped salad is excellent! Glad I gave it another try and was not disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    70
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Blackened Prime Rib Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I visit this restaurant on a regular basis and most of the time I get the blackened prime rib. The quality of the cut and preparation are consistently excellent. With some creamy horseradish and their excellent French fries on the side and I'm in heaven. The rest of the menu is excellent too. I've had their baby back ribs, rib eye which are both some of the best I've ever had. The chicken and fish menu items and specials are also good (but give me the beef). The salads, Ozzie rolls, and on site brewed beers are great.

The service is always excellent as several people will constantly check and assist you during your meal. This restaurant is not part of a chain, just one of a small group of differently themed food establishments that are managed very well - and the quality and overall dining experience show it. Overall, just great casual dining at reasonable prices. Definitely my favorite place to eat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Good No Matter When”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have been going to Sweetwater since it opened...15 years ago? The wait staff is well trained and it is never difficult to track any of them down. However, one really does not need to as they seem to anticipate your needs. The food has always been delicious and I do mean every single item on the menu. One of our favorites is the salmon. Dessert? If you are a fan of bread pudding you must give it a try. We take all of our out of town guests to Sweetwater and they always want to come back when they return for a visit. And don't forget their beers. It is a microbrewery after all!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great afterwork spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Gets crowded quick, for good reason. Great microbrew beer brewed onsite. All food items are great. Bartender Dave will take good care of you. Friendly people.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good Food and Good Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This restaurant is one large open room with booths for seating. It is noisy in a good way. Having a meal here is uplifting and every time I eat there I feel better than when I came in. Great food and service in a "hubbuby" way.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.