We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food, crafted beer, service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
14250 Sweetwater Ln, Centreville, VA 20121-5336
703-449-1100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 93 restaurants in Centreville
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manassas, VA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The best food, crafted beer, service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

These Great American Restaurants (Sweetwater, Coastal Flats, etc.) are all great in their own ways. The soups like the lobster bisque and chicken tortilla (served on specific days, see menu), the beer (I like the darker non-Porters, wife likes the Porters), the rimmed Christmas beer was really good! Some interesting and tasty appetizers. Entrees are all good. We don't get into desserts much but the chocolate dessert is delicious! The best hamburger I've ever had and the fries rival McD's! Impeccable service. When single I enjoyed watching sporting events from the inside bar and the outside bar. You will return!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    95
    61
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Most everything great. Excellent customer service. Always a wait since so popular. Western flare. Brew beer on site.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great family place _ won't break the bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I LOVE SWEETWATER. Right now it is officially my go to restaurant if someone comes to town. great food great atmosphere . my husband fills his beer each visit at their microbrewery. I can get a great drink too. tastes fresh and hits the spot . I love that I can bring my four growing boys out to dinner and they can get a hearty meal _ burgers,ribs,steaks, you name it and they are full.then the bill comes and its under a hundred. for a family of six that is a good thing. high quality steaks and sea food. must do!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lovely food, cooked just how you like it, all excellently prepared. They brew there own beers on site which are really worth a try. would recommend it.

Had a great back bar for after dinner drinks

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Va
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still my favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

For some reason, I can't pass up the Drunken Ribeye, and I like it best as a dinner entree, since dinner includes a loaded and tasty baked potato. If you like garlic, this is a great restaurant for you, as it is used as a flavor enhancing spice in the drunken ribeye, roasted garlic mashed potatos, and in many of the food entrees. If you don't get along with garlic, maybe not so great for you.

Service is always excellent here, and the staff teams to serve every customer. You can ask any server for something, and (amazing to me), word will be passed, and someone -- not always the same person you asked -- will have it for you in a jiffy. Management is on a radio system with the hostess staff and keeps track of all the logistics of moving people in and out efficiently, and on maintaining food quality, timeliness of service, and customer satisfaction.

With the delicious fare, fabulous service, attention to quality, and interesting atmosphere, I'm willing to pay a little more to dine here, than other places, and if you try it out, make sure to ask for the "ozzie rolls," and see if you agree that these donut-like breads, smothered with their honey butter, are awesome.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.