We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food you can always count on!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Tavern

Sweetwater Tavern
14250 Sweetwater Ln, Centreville, VA 20121-5336
703-449-1100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 96 Restaurants in Centreville
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food you can always count on!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Sweetwater's food is always excellent! I love the Encrusted Tuna Salad and my husband likes the ribs or a steak. We've been there many times just for dinner or special occasions. The service is generally good. We've only had bad experiences when seated next to the noisy waitstaff station or when they are super busy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    70
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“O how sweet it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Went on a Saturday. The service was great! They are certainly a team there...we had about 4 different people take care of our needs. The food was ok but maybe we ordered the wrong thing. We decided to treat ourselves to hamburgers. You know indulge just a little... The roll was nice burger was OK nothing to get excited about and definitely not worth the sacrifice in calories...my husband only ate half of his burger and I had to force half of mine down. Other meals that passed us look delicious so again I say just a bad choice. The place is fun and relaxing. We will go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the better beer-focused chains around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sweetwater makes good beers, which are complemented by a nice menu. The salmon salad is amazing. My only wish is that they offered more vegetarian choices. The staff are friendly and this location is always packed on Friday nights, which is when we usually go. This is one of the few chain restaurants I enjoy, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I love going to Sweetwater Tavern, it is a go-to place for a special treat! We love all of the Great American Restaurant locations but this one is probably our favorite. Service here is always excellent, they have a very interesting system where many different servers will help clear table, bring drinks, etc. even though you will have one main server. The bread that they bring to the table is delicious! It usually includes an assortment of hot rolls, cinnamon raisin bread, and a spicy jalapeno bread along with butter. Everything I have tried on the menu is good, my husband and I love to share the fajitas. One thing to be aware of is long wait times, this restaurant is almost always packed! They do not take reservations but offer call ahead seating, I highly recommend this! Being a tavern, the drinks here are always good! I highly recommend ordering a sampler of their beer varieties before ordering a full glass, its a great way to try many different ones.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great drunken steaks, perfect beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When I was near Centreville, colleagues took me to this restaurant. As I am a Dutch resident, I do not have a lot of reference material about American restaurants. What I really liked was the choice of american beers and ales. We took the Drunken Rib Eye. It was drowned in one of the lagers. It was delicious! I went back the last night to have another one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Tavern also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sweetwater Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.