We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Winery at Bull Run

The Winery at Bull Run
15950 Lee Highway, Centreville, VA 20120
(703) 815-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Centreville
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

To me, this place seemed to have it all figured out.

We were greeted at the door and showed to an open spot where someone was ready to go with glasses to start the tasting. Despite being very busy they seemed to have things organized and running smoothly. The person who poured for us (I believe her name was Meg) was very friendly and when my friend expressed an interest in dessert wines she sent a staff person to pull an extra dessert wine to add to our tasting. We went as part of 'the great skedaddle'- wine on 29 promotion which was $20 for tastings at 3 wineries. Great value and they treated us just as well even though we paid a discounted price.

Besides the great service they had some decent wines and the location was really beautiful! We will definitely be back to enjoy a glass on their porch. I only gave it a 4 out of 5 because I didn't feel like the wines were quite 5 star quality and the prices were a bit high although right in line with what we saw at the other two wineries.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our winery! It sounds like you had a great experience and it's delightful to see. Please join us again in the future, we hope that we can create a 5 star experience for you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    8
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fabulous event, wine tasting and music! The weather was incredible, view beautiful, music toe tapping and wine spectacular! Featured Bad to the Bone BBQ that was awesome too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for your great review. Love to hear that you had a great time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time at Bull Run Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a lovely winery where you have the option of sitting outside, inside, at picnic tables, on the grass or on the porch. The wine tasting itself was excellent as well as the snacks offered. The atmosphere is conducive to talking with your "neighbor" standing at the wine tasting bar and to continue the conversation while watching the horses in the background.
The location is very scenic as well as historic and the inside rustic as well as charming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our winery after your first time! Please come back and join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy a little history with your wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a lovely winery that backs up to the Bull Run / Manassas Battlefield, and features wines made from "traditional" native Virginia grapes. They offer a variety of tasting options, as well as a catered picnic lunch (call ahead to place your order). If you're planning on visiting the Manassas National Battlefield Park, this is a great place to finish off your day; relax and have some wine and cheese and watch the sunset behind the Blue Ridge mountains.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Mary, thanks for your great review! The Battlefield Park is beautiful, and we are glad you could join us and enjoy your time with us after visiting them. Our history is what sets us apart and it's great that you found it a great experience. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“enjoyable experience close to DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

They did a great job with the location, wines and setting. The experience is usually great, but sometimes they are too crowded - especially Saturday and Sunday afternoons, which can mean a long wait. I love the mural they painted behind the tasting desk showing the history of the property.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Associate at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Paula, Thank you for bearing with us as we can often get busy on weekends- we do try our best to assist each guest as quickly as possible without compromising the experience for anyone! We do hope to see you back soon and appreciate your review & positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winery at Bull Run also viewed

Clifton, Fairfax County
Haymarket, Prince William County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Winery at Bull Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winery at Bull Run, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.