We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Winery!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Winery at Bull Run

The Winery at Bull Run
15950 Lee Highway, Centreville, VA 20120
(703) 815-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Centreville
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Expensive Winery!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is amazing, the staff is kind, but the wine and prices are not compatible. I would say, try it out for yourself, but check the wine prices online and be prepared to pay more here than in most other NOVA wineries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Coordinator at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere that we have worked hard to create. We hope you've been back since our last visit! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    9
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, so-so wines”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great great atmosphere. Small property compared to some western wineries but close to city so easily accessible. Large lawn for warmer weather, large interior for cooler weather. Most winery interiors are so small. 2pm on a Saturday was like a late night bar in DC! Wine tasting is very expensive, wines are not great, they don't make their own wines. Even the Living Social promotion doesn't make it worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Coordinator at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and property! Through our growth we have found that our customers are willing to pay our prices for the wines and experience that they receive with us. As time goes by our wines have changed and hope you've been back since your last visit to see all that we have to offer now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“$$$$$$$”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

$12 bucks for wine tasting is too much! Also amount of each tasting is too little. View is nice but look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Coordinator at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. As far as the tasting goes, our staff is instructed to pour the official 1 ounce pour for tastings, but you are more than welcome to ask for a second taste of any of the wines during your tasting. We hope that you've been back since your last visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No dogs allowed.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I'm very disappointed that a new winery won't learn from all of it's competition. Dogs today are part of a complete family and go everywhere with us. We and like minded dog lovers will boycott wineries that adopt such policies. Winery's like Barrel Oak in Delaplane embrace dogs, have a great social setting and great wine.

All this ownership has to do is look to the news, "state of Maryland allows dogs at resturants, 2011". It appears that this winery is living in the past. But wait, in the 1860's dogs were also commonplace. Also the soliders best friend.

Their FAQ states a "dog zone" is coming. How about a "no kid zone"? Hmmmm

To the owners, embrace the future....talk to other owners that do allow dogs...then, maybe, if your wine is any good (for VA) then we will share our wealth we you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Excellent Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I purchased a Living Social Deal for $22.00, a $44.00 value. Two souvenir wine glasses, $24.00 to spend in the gift shop, choice of a baguette or crackers and a block of cheese or choice of cheese spread were included in the deal. This was our first visit to this winery that just opened in June 2012. The winery is rustic, with a large tasting bar, couches and chairs, tables, and Civil War memorabilia. There is an outside deck with tables. There are remains of an old house that burned down in the 70s on the property. While we were there, a band was setting up on the remains to play that evening. Wine tastings include four whites, one rose, three reds and a yummy port style wine. The cost for tasting is $12.00 which includes a souvenir wine glass. Our tasting was discounted to $10.00 since our deal included glasses. Daisy, who served us was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable of the wines and told us what foods to pair with each one. You can purchase wines by the glass for $9.00 each or by the bottle $24.00 to $32.00. The port style wine is $38 per bottle. We purchased a bottle of Chardonnel to have with our baguette and delicious White Cheddar Jalapeno cheese spread. The baguette was large and warm. There are a variety of food items for purchase including Irish Cheddar, Gouda, Brie, Goat Cheese, Vermont Cheddar, Hummus, Crab and Artichoke Spread, White Cheddar Jalapeno Spread, Prosciutto, Chianti Salami, baguettes and crackers. It was a beautiful day to sit outside and enjoy our picnic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Coordinator at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review!! We hope you've been back since your last visit! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winery at Bull Run also viewed

Clifton, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Winery at Bull Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winery at Bull Run, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.