We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No dogs allowed.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Winery at Bull Run

The Winery at Bull Run
15950 Lee Highway, Centreville, VA 20120
(703) 815-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Centreville
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No dogs allowed.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I'm very disappointed that a new winery won't learn from all of it's competition. Dogs today are part of a complete family and go everywhere with us. We and like minded dog lovers will boycott wineries that adopt such policies. Winery's like Barrel Oak in Delaplane embrace dogs, have a great social setting and great wine.

All this ownership has to do is look to the news, "state of Maryland allows dogs at resturants, 2011". It appears that this winery is living in the past. But wait, in the 1860's dogs were also commonplace. Also the soliders best friend.

Their FAQ states a "dog zone" is coming. How about a "no kid zone"? Hmmmm

To the owners, embrace the future....talk to other owners that do allow dogs...then, maybe, if your wine is any good (for VA) then we will share our wealth we you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Excellent Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I purchased a Living Social Deal for $22.00, a $44.00 value. Two souvenir wine glasses, $24.00 to spend in the gift shop, choice of a baguette or crackers and a block of cheese or choice of cheese spread were included in the deal. This was our first visit to this winery that just opened in June 2012. The winery is rustic, with a large tasting bar, couches and chairs, tables, and Civil War memorabilia. There is an outside deck with tables. There are remains of an old house that burned down in the 70s on the property. While we were there, a band was setting up on the remains to play that evening. Wine tastings include four whites, one rose, three reds and a yummy port style wine. The cost for tasting is $12.00 which includes a souvenir wine glass. Our tasting was discounted to $10.00 since our deal included glasses. Daisy, who served us was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable of the wines and told us what foods to pair with each one. You can purchase wines by the glass for $9.00 each or by the bottle $24.00 to $32.00. The port style wine is $38 per bottle. We purchased a bottle of Chardonnel to have with our baguette and delicious White Cheddar Jalapeno cheese spread. The baguette was large and warm. There are a variety of food items for purchase including Irish Cheddar, Gouda, Brie, Goat Cheese, Vermont Cheddar, Hummus, Crab and Artichoke Spread, White Cheddar Jalapeno Spread, Prosciutto, Chianti Salami, baguettes and crackers. It was a beautiful day to sit outside and enjoy our picnic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Coordinator at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review!! We hope you've been back since your last visit! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terri007
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great new winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Finding this little gem is somewhat difficult-if you're heading north on Rte. 29-do not stop at the MNB park sign before the light at Sudley. Head a bit further until you go to the last MNB sign on your left and it will be about 10 feet north of that. If you hit the quarry, you've passed it.
I went on a Thursday with one of my friends using the Living Social voucher. It was a bit busy even on a weekday at 11:30. However, the pourers were very nice and knowledgeable. The winemaker is Chris Pearmund who until recently owned and was the chief winemaker for La Grange (which has since fallen off the rails a bit in service-although the wines are still good as Chris made them). The wines here are a bit similar to the ones he formerly made at La Grange. The "Delaney"-named for his daughter is similar to the Cuvee Blanc but a tad bit sweeter, the Voignier was delicious but they had one bottle to sell which my friend picked up. The Petit Manseng was just opened and we were able to sample some but it was not for sale. The Rose is in the French style and is dry.
The Reds were the Cab Franc which was fine and the Merlot which I purchased. They also offer an Port style wine in the vein of the old Snort from La Grange called "Fort". This wine did not seem to be quite as heavy as the old Snort, so I purchased one of those as well.
The grounds contain the ruins of an old home which burned in the late 80's. They have food you can pre-order from their website the day before your arrival if you would like. They do have some food for purchase (cheeses, spreads, etc.) and tables inside, outside on a large porch, in the ruins and on the lawn. They also have a "no pet" policy which for those of us who are tired of other people's pets traipsing through their picnic foods while the owners chuckle that it's so cute (kind of like the parents of obnoxious children who in fine dining establishments think it's adorable that their brats scream, yell and through food). I am sure this will put off some pet owners but having had two recent run ins with pets who decided my sandwich would be good for them, I am sorry.
Overall, I think this winery is well on it's way to being a great stop on a Virginia Wine Tour. It is now the closest winery to DC. I will be going again next Saturday with a group of friends. We can't wait.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Coordinator at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review!! We hope you've been back since your last visit! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Everything is DIVINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a relaxing and laid back winery. None of that frou-frou stuff you can find at other wineries. Have a tasting, order some food, sit on the porch and chat with fellow oenophiles. Or simply chill and watch the horses in the nearby field while listening to some really wonderful music!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie S, Marketing Coordinator at The Winery at Bull Run, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review!! We hope you've been back since your last visit! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winery at Bull Run also viewed

Clifton, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Haymarket, Prince William County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Winery at Bull Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winery at Bull Run, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.