We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Dining - Good Korean Grilled Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honey Pig Gooldaegee Korean BBQ

Honey Pig Gooldaegee Korean BBQ
13818-B Braddock Rd, Centreville, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 96 Restaurants in Centreville
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Casual Dining - Good Korean Grilled Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My in laws took us to Honey Pig in Centreville last Saturday. The atmosphere is very casual, the flooring of the restaurant is plain cement, nothing fancy at all. The restaurant specializes in Gogigui "meat + roasting", or Korean barbecue. You order the meat and the food is prepared at the diner's table on a gas grill that is built into the center of the table itself. My inlaws ordered pork belly, it is fatty which I expected. They offered a lot of appetizers including Kimchi and "fried egg" in water. My in laws also ordered "hang over" soup which I did not taste. Over all the food was delicious and we will definitely return to the place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We'll DEFINITELY be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We'd read a few reviews about both Virginia locations, and heard comments from friends who'd been to one or both. What a fun place! It was helpful to have had a little info before going, and 5 minutes away in the car, I was still calling a friend for specific dishes to order. It pays to know what to expect before you go in the door ... as once you enter, it's a whole different world in there, and all in a good way. One review compared it to a Bladerunner atmosphere. Yeah, I can see that. Maybe it's in an Asian garage, who knows.

We'd heard it can be crowded and there might be a wait. It was busy, but we waited no more than 15 minutes. We were a party of 5, and before us was a party of 7, then a group of 9 was right behind us. No problem, we were all seated fairly quickly. The decor is interesting ... corrugated metal, behind screens outlined by pipes. Big exhaust fans over every table, concrete floors, and industrial tables and chairs. Not uncomfortable, but don't come here looking for 'posh'. Music is loud, and that brings an energy to this place that is both fun, and daunting. You don't come here to relax and enjoy a leisurely meal. It's off to the races once you sit down. Then again, we heard this is a great place to come when needing a late night meal after a bar binge. (There's even a Hangover Stew on the menu!) Open 24/7, it looks like it has a good thing going.

Servers and bus staff are hopping, taking orders, bringing it out, and then cooking it at your table, in the center grill. Salads were already on our table, lettuce with a light dressing and some sliced onions. If you haven't checked out the menu previously, you might be confused as to what to get. Meat, meat, meat ... that is the specialty here. All kinds of meat. We chose the thin sliced pork belly, brisket, and bulgoki. We also ordered steamed and fried dumplings and the server added kimchi and vegetables to our grill. This had a slightly vinegary taste to it, along with the expected spice, and it was a wonderful condiment and compliment to our order. Also on the table were several small dishes of sauces and spice. You can add any combination of these to your meat, and wrap it all up in the lettuce leaves you'll also find on the table. We passed on the lettuce, choosing instead to enjoy our meal with individual bowls of rice. One nice sauce we were told to ask for was the sesame oil with salt and pepper. We dipped the meats into this and yes, it enhanced the already nice flavors well.

Your server will bring out the meat and cook it for you, stopping by every so often to turn, or baste the meat on the grill. If needed, she might have some serious scissors to cut the meat up, before serving it on your plate. Or, she may just point to it on the grill, letting you know it's ready. Then again, she might take some of the meat, and put it in one of your sauce bowls. There is a team effort here with the cooking ... as we had 3 different servers all attend to our table grill.

We had two bowls of Steaming Egg come to our table. We didn't order it, but I think that if you order a certain amount of entree/meat, it will come automatically. If you like custardy type eggs, light and flavorful ... looking like a chemistry experiment on high boil, this is the soup for you. It warrants taking a video of it if you can. Guaranteed you've never seen soup bubble, boil and steam like this.

We're giving this 4 stars, as we'd like to come back and try the other menu items. What we had was great, and filling. The loud pop music will bore itself into your head ... which can be a good thing, or a bad thing. You'll probably be tapping your foot, but you might also be eating faster than usual ... keeping pace with the incessant beat.

We enjoyed ourselves, and we'll be back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Take a Korean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

This is my first time to this honey pug, a have been to the other one in annandale several times. I love the food, but must admit, a Korean friend/coworker always goes with us. She does all the ordering in Korean, So I usually do not know what everything is, but it is good. This visit it was me, Sookie and her 2 year niece, the noodle soup works for kids. I love the beef. The pork belly can get a bit salty but still good. We have not yet tried the chicken. There is so much food and condiments brought out. Refresh your chop sticks skills and clean your finger. Oh, you will leave smelling like lunch, hard not too when your food is cooked in front of you. atmosphere is great, with all the pinup calendar posters, and metal walls. I recommend other location for a great afternoon meal, and take a Korean with you of you can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bladerunner atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Food is meaty, atmosphere like a railway station restaurant soemwhere in Asia. Reminds me of the movie Bladerunner - too many people, lots of noise and strangeness. I trhink there was an android dreaming aobut electric sheep off in the corner. Fun for a change or if you have a fond memory of lost weekends in viceo arcades and underground food on the other side of the Pacific.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Korean BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have been here several times now. This location serves soup, stew, dumplings, noodles, poultry, lunch specials, meat, pork and rice, among other dishes. The meat is cooked at each person's table on a small grill. We usually get the spicy pork belly & spicy chicken which is always consistent. The last trip we started experimenting with soups. The hangover soup is ok but the kimchi soup is excellent.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey Pig Gooldaegee Korean BBQ also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Honey Pig Gooldaegee Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honey Pig Gooldaegee Korean BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.