We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bull Run Regional Park

Bull Run Regional Park
7700 Bull Run Drive, Centreville, VA 20121
703-631-0550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Attractions in Centreville
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Slatington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Although we only spent one night here, I would love to come back and spend more time. We had a beautiful pull through site that was very level, and quite spacious. I like that there weren't any other sites directly behind us, so it made for a fairly private camping experience. I thought it was pricey for a government run facility, but I would definitely return.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Festival of Lights is a very good family outing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My son who lives in Oakton, VA recommended that we drive through Bull Run Regional park to see the annual Festival of Lights and it was quite a pleasant experience. Although I enjoyed the array of lights that have been assembled and $20 per carload is not that excessive a fee for this area, I did not find it overall to be anywhere near as impressive as the Festival of Lights on James Island, near Charleston, SC which is closer to home. On the positive side, it was very easy to reach the Bull Run location and even for a Saturday night, we had no trouble getting in and driving through it in a reasonable amount of time. The James Island, SC location is usually very crowded and one can expect a fairly long wait to get in.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sporting clays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent sporting clays course for expert or beginner. They sell ammo and rent shotguns at resonable rates.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy little cabin in the woods near DC....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We rented a camper cabin at Bull Run park for two nights. It was a 35 minute drive from DC with light traffic. The facilities were spotlessly clean and the few other campers we saw were pleasant. A lovely playground near the cabins made a fun distraction for the kids. The camp store was staffed from 8 to 8 and had a bit of anything you might have forgotten but the campground was a short drive from suburbia and we noticed a Walmart less than 10 minutes away.

We were a little uncomfortable because of how empty the campground was, one night we saw only one other family on the other side of the campground. There were probably 80 empty sites between us and them. Some campers would love this but I was a bit uncomfortable as all our other camping trips were to very popular crowded campgrounds. The kids prefer camping with other families and children to play with. I'm told that on the weekends they rent all the cabins and are much busier.

The water park was fun and crowded each day we went.

We spent a few hours exploring local civil war sites each day.

I would highly recommend this campground.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great place to shoot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This park has an amazing area for Trap, Skeet, 5 Stand, Sporting clays and Wobble trap. If you like to shoot or even if you never have this is a great spot. They have a beginner orientation that is low priced. The sporting clays is well laid out and fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull Run Regional Park also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 

Been to Bull Run Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull Run Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.