We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful leaves and birds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bull Run Regional Park

Bull Run Regional Park
7700 Bull Run Drive, Centreville, VA 20121
703-631-0550
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 10 attractions in Centreville
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Clifton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful leaves and birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Fresh, cool air, shelters and picnic tables and lots of room to stroll, sit and observe nature. Clean and safe and well maintained.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyons Falls, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were traveling and had to make a stop. WOW, what a surprise! This is a wonderful park and since it was near Christmas the Festival of Lights was a big treat. We were tired and this truly made our day. The staff was very nice and we got a great site! It was quiet and peaceful and very very clean! Great JOB all around. We will be stopping on the way through again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been here during both summer and winter. Great place for a family picnic or hiking. The Festival of Lights is an excellent light show attraction every winter. This place is nicely nestled in the woods, can't believe its so close to DC !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice place for a picnic or soccer game”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Bull Run is a great little place for a family picnic and that is what it gets used for big time as soon as the weather gets warm. You will see families stake out the place starting early in the day and then see them playing, eating, and otherwise enjoying themselves all day long. There are a slew of soccer fields here and sometimes there are tournaments which makes parking tough. I come here largely to play Disk Golf but since they reworked the course, I've spent more of my time on the Burke Lake Course. There's a pool, campground and shooting range here as well as hiking trails.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Festival of Lights--for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Excellent light show for small children. $20 for a car to go on a few mile drive along park roads. Both sides of the road are lit with small lights eliminating the need for headlights and giving the appearance of an airport runway. There are many two dimensional lighted characters and objects--deer, snowflakes, etc. many of which are animated and quite clever. Deer jumping over the road, fish jumping in a pond (and splashing), and scenes from fairy tales are also included. We went through with a 5 year old and a 3 year old and there were many "Wows". The snowfall effect at one point elicited some "Wows" from the adults as well.
Skip the "Holiday Village" at the end--it's a seriously over-priced carnival and except for one light display on the perimeter has nothing to do with the holiday.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull Run Regional Park also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Bull Run Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull Run Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.