We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Canyon Grill - CLOSED

Copper Canyon Grill
5815 Trinity Parkway, Centreville, VA 20120
703-830-6600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We really enjoy Copper Canyon for special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries, etc...). There is too much food to eat. It's moderately priced, but too much food for one person. We can usually get by with one entree and a dessert and we still feel stuffed when we leave.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loserboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Centreville, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great gluten free menu (as well as regular food)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of the few places in Centreville that offer a gluten free menu, and their choices are really excellent. I order off the regular menu and love their salads, portions are big so we always take leftovers for a meal the next day. Service is great too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cindybee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great service with an extensive menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I met another couple for an early afternoon lunch on a Sunday. We were seated toward the back of the restaurant because we chose to have a table rather than a booth. Although the rest of the restaurant is prettier and brighter, we wanted to be out of the way of other diners, as much as possible, because we hadn't seen our friends for over a year and weren't in a hurry to get through our meal. The ambiance where we were seated, near an exit/entrance to outdoor dining, was a little dark compared to the rest of the restaurant.

Our service, however, was outstanding. The young lady was clearly being honest when we asked her about certain menu items, which we really appreciate as it was the first time at the restaurant for our friends. Some servers simply say everything is wonderful, but Alice made suggestions and gave input from her own experience eating there with her husband, as well as what others have said. We were using a Living Social offer, which didn't seem to faze her, another plus that had things headed in the right direction.

Our table had two appetizers, the stuffed and the quesadilla; both were very good and a bit unique compared to other restaurants. Among our entrees were Chicken Pot Pie, Chicken & Ribs, and Filet Mignon. The chicken, ribs, and filet were all outstanding! The filet, my entree, was especially tender and had a great sauce with blue cheese butter. It was accompanied by mashed potatoes and sauteed spinach, which were also very good, especially the spinach. Our friend ordered the pot pie, after considering that our server said some diners thought it was a little dry, and although she said the taste was great, had to agree with the other diners! We guessed the kitchen errors on the side of caution so as not to have a runny filling, but my friend said she wouldn't order it again because it wasn't the moist style of pot pie she was hoping for.

We had a mix of soft drinks, beer, iced tea, and a Bloody Mary; all were fine. We ordered one dessert, the bread pudding, which we enjoyed and shared. Even so, we took part of it home, and it was great re-warmed later that day.

Overall, we would not hesitate to visit again or recommend Copper Canyon to friends. Everything was nicely prepared, served at just the right pace, and perfectly portioned for both the ladies and gentlemen. The manager stopped by near the end of the meal, which was a great touch. It gave us an opportunity to rave about our server, which he appreciated. Upon leaving, we were wished a nice day and picked up some of their chocolate sticks, which were a nice treat in the car.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bgonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“PUBIC HAIR in our food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Do I need to say more?
We went to this restaurant by chance because we didn't know the area. I'm very disappointed to hear that it had a Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor. After our disgusting discovery they kind of apologized but at the same time tried to minimize and it was just ridiculous.
I kindly ask the Manager to not insult me further by replying to this review that it wasn't a pubic hair. It was. You just have a MAJOR hygienic issue with your employees, who apparently don't wash their hands. You can have excellent food, but still the hygiene can't be neglected like that.
I'm sorry about this review but this is the purpose of Tripadvisor, to share knowledge and advice others against unpleasant experiences.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent entree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Was in town for business and saw the reviews for this place. Everything was right in line. Expensive but the food was extremely good. I had the salmon Cesar salad and was extremely impressed with taste. Some of the best tasting salmon I've ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dpesek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Canyon Grill also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing