We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rotisserie chicken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Canyon Grill - CLOSED

Copper Canyon Grill
5815 Trinity Parkway, Centreville, VA 20120
703-830-6600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing rotisserie chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The last time I ate at a Copper Canyon Grill was two years ago in Gaithersburg so I searched out this one in Centreville during a visit to Fairfax and was not disappointed

The chicken really is their best item. The flavor is fantastic and is throughout the chicken. Although pricey, the serving is quite large with a full half chicken, potatoes and vegetable plus a basket of corn muffins and scones. Service was very fast and staff were attentive. I substituted the mashed potatoes for fries which are very thin and crispy setting them apart from other restaurants. I wish they would package and sell their chicken spices though like many other chains do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    19
    21
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Place is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I are locals and eat here every few weeks. There has been a change in managers in the past year. The menu is clear, and the food delicious. The bread basket is creative - cornbread with a touch of sweet jalapeno. Service is speedy and the waiters are friendly. My husband loves the brick chicken and I enjoy the fish specials. Try it - you will not be disappointed! The prices are fair for good service and delicious food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food, very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The smell of wood from outside is enticing. The patio tables overlook a large pond and rolling hills, hiding the nearby buildings and roads. A fire pit adds to the ambience. Inside the decor is simple, rustic, and somewhat elegant. Service is very good - there are a lot of employees working in teams so you never wait for anything. A few of them may have been in training, but no problems whatsoever. The manager came by to say hello as well.

The rotersserie chicken is the speciality, and it is wonderful. Rubbed in 31 spices, it has a very nice flavor that seeps into the meat, so you don't have to eat the skin to taste it. Mashed potatoes are a very tasty complex of flavors. Green beans and cole slaw recommended. One of us got a free dessert just for asking, on account of this being our first visit: huge key lime pie with huge pile of fresh whipped cream on top.

We had lunch on a bright Spring Friday. Not crowded - some working folks and older ladies here and there. The bar looked rather spartan, and I didn't look but did not see any TVs about. Evidently this is a chain from Maryland and is the only such in Virginia.

On the down side, things were a bit expensive. Not enough to stay away, but to come infrequently.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service. Way pricey for Centreville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We've started going here only in the last few months because the food is excellent. They do chicken as well as anyone in Fairfax County. Has a nice atmosphere and the service is excellent but bring your wallet. It's far and away the priciest food in the immediate Centreville area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A good change from the regular chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We used to eat here a lot when it was Red Rock Canyon, but the name change was about all that did. They still have great rotissere chicken and always fresh fish. I'm a huge fan of the chicken ceaser salad with jalepeno cornbread croutons and pulled chicken, but when my wife and I went last weekend we decided to try some new stuff.

We got the torilla soup, and there were loads of chicken to go along with the great flavor of the soup. We then split the crabcakes and they were excellent. I would definitely eat them again.

For some reason this place is never super crowded, and you can almost always walk in on a friday/saturday night and get a table without waiting. The prices are very reasonable, slightly less then bigger chains like Sweetwater (great american restaurants) and Bonefish, but the food quality is the same. I'm a huge fan and can't wait to get back again soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Canyon Grill also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Canyon Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.