We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Korean Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spa World

Spa World
13830-A10 Braddock Road, Centreville, VA 20121
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Centreville
Attraction details
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
480 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great Korean Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've been going to this place for over 2 years now and can only say good things about it. As it was described by others the protocol there is quite unique. You come in pay your $40 (starting February 12th) admission that gives you 24 hours in the spa. They give you a canvas uniform and a little piece of paper with the locker number (men's start with 1, women's with 2) where you put your shoes and retrieve a locker key. After that you go to segregated areas where using the key from the shoes locker you open your clothes locker and undress. The custom dictates that in the segregated area everybody is naked, but I've seen people taking shower in their trunks. There's a relatively big wading pool with all sorts of jet streams to massage your body, various hot and cold pools, two steam rooms (wet & dry), shower stalls and body scrub area. Soap, towels, and even toothpaste are provided for you. You can easily spent 2, if not hours just in that area wading, steaming, and relaxing.
After you're done there, you put on your canvas uniform and head on to the common area where there are TVs, smoothie bar, korean food eatery, massage & beauty salons as well as a general relaxation area. There multiple poultice rooms: clay, amethyst, charcoal, clay balls, salt, and ice room. You lay on the floor and slowly sweat and afterwards you can quickly cool down in the ice room. Everything is done laying on the floor mats, not benches (except the ice room). There's Wi-Fi and korean food is delicious for the most part, I'm very partial to their soups.
My shortest visit to this spa was 4 hours with 6 being the average. So, don't plan to be done quickly with this place. When you come out of there you will feel very different, exhausted, relaxed, etc.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Go to Korea for the day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I loved this place! I have been to a number of similar places in Europe and Asia, and this one certainly measured up.

It seems like a lot of people are hesitant to go because of the no-clothes policy in the pool area. I will point out that if this is the case, there is still a lot you can do in the clothed area, which includes a number of dry saunas, a relaxing area, and the restaurant. As long as you enjoy saunas, I think it would definitely be worth it to go even if you just stay in the clothed area. You can always check out the pool when you get there if you feel comfortable with it.

When you arrive, you pay $35 (although I think it's going up to $40 next week) and you are given a spa outfit of a t-shirt and shorts, and a key to your locker that is also used to record anything additional that you buy, like drinks, food, massages etc. Then when you check out you pay for the additional items you bought. The admission fee lets you stay for up to 24 hours (they are open 24/7) so you can spend as much time as you want.

There are two main areas to the spa - the common area, in which genders are mixed and you have to wear the outfit you are given, and the gender-separated areas. The common, mixed area includes a number of "poultice rooms" - really dry saunas - that each have a theme such as salt, charcoal, or red clay. Each theme is supposed to have a certain healing power. The rooms do not have benches like a European sauna, but mats on the floor that you lie on. The common area also has a bunch of mats on the ground where people rest, hang out, read, etc. There are a few tv's, a refreshment stand, a fitness room (including "body shakers"!), and a restaurant that serves delicious Korean meals. The meals run about $9-12 and include a number of the traditional side items like kim chi.

The gender-separated areas include the very nice changing/locker rooms and the bade pool area. In these areas, no clothes are allowed. The spa does provide towels, but they are quite small (think hand towels) and don't provide too much coverage. I don't think you are allowed to use your own towel. I found that after a couple of minutes, you didn't even notice the nakedness at all and it just seemed normal. Anyway, the bade pool is great!! It is a warm-ish pool that has lots of different stations with water jets to massage various parts of your body. There is also a steam sauna, dry sauna, cold bath, and several hot tubs. These are all surrounded by shower stations. The spa provides pretty much everything you need - shampoo, conditioner, hair dryers, even brushes (a little gross if you ask me). You don't have to wear shoes (most people walked around barefoot) although I did see a few people in flip flops.

Overall, I thought it was a great place to spend a few hours and relax.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An authentic Korean bathhouse/spa experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a huge Korean spa, in suburban Virginia; it's authentic in every way. Most guests are ethnic Koreans, but there are enough Westerners that I didn't feel that I stuck out, particularly. When you enter, you pay your entrance fee and get a shirt and shorts for the dry areas, and key to your first of two lockers, into which you place your shoes. Then you proceed to the "wet area" for your gender, and find your second locker, which opens with your key. You place all your clothing and what-have-you in this locker and, stark naked, head for the pools. Before you enter the water you take a shower--you'll see the Koreans especially scrubbing themselves very thoroughly before going in, as one does in a Korean bathhouse in Korea. There's a huge warm "bade pool", bubbling away, with waterfalls and jets; on the side are a couple of hotter pools, a children's pool, and cold pool, and there are also two saunas, one steamy and the other dry. On the side are the massage and body scrub tables; you sign up for these treatments in the locker room. I did the body scrub, which was fantastic. When you are feeling relaxed and/or hungry, you can dry off with one of their little towels and go back to your locker, put on your shirt/shorts spa-wear, and head to the "poultice rooms". These are sort of like saunas but every one is different--an amethyst room, a charcoal room, a ice room (refreshing!), a red clay room, the red clay ball room (terrific--it's filled with inches of marble sized red clay balls, on which you lie and relax as on a warm beach), and some others. There's also a central relaxation area where you can lie on a mat, chat, watch the huge TVs, and on one end, the juice/snack bar with easy chairs. There's a bunch of magazines to read in the bins on the walls too. This is also where the little restaurant is located--the food is authentic and terrific, and very well priced too. My favorite "soondooboo", or spicy tofu soup, was 100% as I had it in Korea, and fantastic hot bibimbap (rice bowl with vegetables) was great too. Spend several hours, get a massage, and you'll come out refreshed and renewed, rather like being on vacation in another world for awhile. I recommend it highly! Just remember, some things might be a cultural shock--just go with it, is my advice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

this is a wonderful place to relax; one of the reviewers noticed mostly Koreans and Europeans; if Americans are bothered that they have to be naked, don't go, and if you go, don't complain about it, what's wrong about being naked? and if you proceed to the Pultice room, yes, you will find people relaxing in their orange outfits on mats, talking softly, watching TV or reading, walking in and out of the various saunas; so, why does a (former) visitor complain about it? just use your own judgement and don't always look for "instructions", find out yourself; and if you go to the clay room, watch out for the pebbles, you might fall, don't look for "watch your step" you are on your own: and this is just fine! be a person with common sense!
I love this place!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will Definitely Go Back--even without a Groupon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had a great first experience at Spa World. We arrived early before the crowds and started with an amazing reflexology foot massage. The only thing that could have made that better would be having music in the room and not the annoying Korean soap opera that was on the TV. From there we experienced all the dry saunas in the poulice room. They were all hot and detoxing and offered a nice break from the cool outdoors of the past few days. From there we did an hour in the bade pool in preparation for a 30 minute body scrub. The nudity part was no big deal after the initial first minute of being self-conscious. The body scrub was rough but I loved it and ending with a nice full body massage made me want to come back for the hour long one with the facial. After that it was back to the bade pool and the poulice room for about another hour. Great place as long as you aren't expecting doting staff. They were perfectly nice but aren't going for any customer service awards. And to the reviewer that didn't like the way they treated her 16 mo. old--I say, leave the kids at home. It's an adult oriented spa not a play ground or day care center (though I think you can pay for babysitting).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spa World also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County

Been to Spa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing