We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spa World

Spa World
13830-A10 Braddock Road, Centreville, VA 20121
703.815.8959
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Centreville
Type: Spas
Attraction Details
Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

In one word.... WOW! Friends had told me about it and I read reviews, but nothing can prepare you for Spaworld. No, it is not a luxurious spa with thick terry cloth robes, but it is one of the most relaxing places you can find. Having been raised in America, I am not accustomed to walking naked among strangers. So, it took me about 5 minutes to adjust then I didn't even think about it. When I first read about being nude, I was concerned about warmth, but Spaworld works very hard to ensure that temperatures are comfortable throughout the facility and they actually display room and water temperatures throughout the facility.

My friends raved about the body scrub, so I knew I wanted that experience, but you cannot make a reservation so depending on time of day/day of week, you may have to wait a few hours for your body scrub. My granddaughter and I went on a Saturday afternoon and had to wait 3 hours, but there is plenty to do while waiting. The body scrub is the one thing you have to do! They totally scrub almost every inch of your body (except for the private parts) and while scrubbing, they periodically pour wonderfully temperate water over your body. You will be amazed at the dirt/dead skin they get off of you! Afterwards, I just wanted to lay down and sleep.

While we waited for our body scrub, we chose to do the poultice rooms, which are like saunas. There are six rooms and each one has its own healing powers ranging from digestion to metabolism. Since this was our first visit, we chose to try each room. My favorite was the clay ball room where the floor is covered in a 6-inch layer of small, soft clay balls (be careful when walking to avoid falling). Each room has its own feel and the room temperature is displayed at the entry of each room. There is also a "cold room", which is actually invigorating.

This is a Korean spa and few of the workers speak English, so few people can answer questions. I wanted to know about the best way to sequence through the poultice rooms. After trying all of them, I discovered there is no one best way, but I think it might be a good idea to alternate between hot rooms and the cold room.

There are two main areas 1) the wet room with a ginormous Jacuzzi and several smaller ones with different water temperatures. Plus a steam room, sauna, showers and the body scrub area; 2) the relaxation room with adjoining poultice rooms, drink bar(non-alcoholic) and restaurant. People clearly go to Spaworld to relax. The floor of the relaxation room is covered with Asian mats on floor where people lounge with books, iPads, newspapers and general quiet conversation. There are also comfy leather covered lounge chairs but they were occupied when we were there. Food in the restaurant is Korean. Food was tasty but very salty. Also servings are large so one dish is enough for two.

All in all it was a wonderful experience and can't wait to go back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    4
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“UNFRIENDLY CUSTOMER SERVICE! DIRTY WATER IN THE POOL!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Its a shame that such a great place has a VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE! UNFRIENDLY STUFF AND UNTiSANITARY WATER IN THE POOL AREA! Some water jets don't work on occasion and water not clean in the pool!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Less awkward than you expect, totally relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I went with a friend yesterday and was a bit nervous about the naked thing. I get dressed in locker rooms w/o a problem but don't walk around w/o bra and panties. So walking around fully naked was a bit unnerving. But you are in the pools most the time and since nobody else cares it was easy to get over it. The various pools were relaxing, but the poultice rooms were great (and clothed). The room with warm red clay balls was incredibly relaxing as was the amythest room. Salt and charcoal were fine. The cold room was refreshing. I had the 60 minutes body scrub and massage. They are not the soft and soothing scrubs and massages you get elsewhere. But it felt really good! My skin is shockingly smooth and soft even a day later. (Keep your eyes closed though so you don't get disgusted by all the deadskin that is scrubbed off of you!) One of the mini pools is 104 degrees and was felt great just to relax in. The moist and dry saunas were great after the scrub. All in all i would do the $35 general admin again and again. The $90 scrub/massage was a nice treat I will do again. Naked thing was easily overcome and the whole place was spotless clean.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triad, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“4 Quick Tips to make your visit better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

4 Tips

1.)a big towel to keep in your locker. use it to dry yourself at the end of the day when you take your final shower and are about to put on your clothes for the ride home.Theirs are threadbare, smallish and gonna be wet after you've used it for this and that all day.

2. Read a ton of these reviews and you'll have your orientation before arriving since, yeah, its true, there ain't one once you get there.

3. Go solo. Bringing a same-gender friend means a whole day of avoiding looking at their such-and-such while talking. Also, I noticed that those who came with a friend did nothing but yammer on about work stuff or gossip stuff. That's no way to relax (or to allow those around you to relax) It is way better to go alone and just be centered and focus on the warmth of the water, the jets, your own random thoughts.

4. Go during an off time. I went today, a Thursday between 930 and 12pm and for most of the day there was only 1 other person in the "poultice rooms" with me and maybe five others in the bade pool.

5. Spend a lot of time. My 2.5 hours was not nearly enough. I could have gone for an extra 2.5 hours.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

SpaWorld -Centreville Va is a great mega Korean Spa/Bathhouse which offers a unique and relaxing experience. About the size of Giant grocery Store. Open 24 hours a day. $35 to use the all the facilities or $25 to use just the same sex bade pool/hot tubs/saunas/steam room. The communal area has a good korean restaurant, mats for yoga/meditate, lounge chairs, smoking room for men, and few poultice and ice rooms.

Very busy Saturday afternoons. Comparable to Ceasars Palace day spas. Has wifi/tvs/etc in the communal areas. Dont listen to the clueless people on here complaining about this place. These type of people complain about everything or were uninformed about what they were getting in to. The fact that you were yelling in a SPA lobby means your total classless person. If your uncomfortable being nude around same sex then why go to bathhouse. Additionally, the Spa World web site also states that there are no coed hot tube/bade pools. If you went for that purpose only you should have researched more instead of looking like a clueless fool.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spa World also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Spa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.