We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of tsunami

tsunami
13039 Fair Lakes Shopping Ctr, Centreville, VA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 96 Restaurants in Centreville
Restaurant details
Johns Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was very pleased with the service and menu. Easy access, authentic atmosphere and an overall pleasure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Real Tsunami of a Buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The sushi just keeps on coming! Busy sushi/sashimi chefs behind the counter, a captivating array of food on display. A real deal of a buffet for $13.99 per person. And for the non-sushi customers, there is some cooked sushi and asian options like crispy chicken, chicken teriyaki and something like General Tzo's chicken, I forget the name. There is tempura and miso soup, too! All very very good. Lots of happy customers every time I've been there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very good weekend buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Not the biggest buffet out there, but at $13.99 the price can't be beat. The servers are good with staying on top of drinks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our Daughter's Favorite Japanese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

First, it's important to note that this restaurant isn't actually in Centreville. It's in Fairfax (the entire Fair Lakes Shopping Center is). That being said, it is pretty close to Centreville so is easily accessible from there.

The food here is very good and very consistent. It isn't necessarily the best of everything, but it is perfectly passable in pretty much every regard. The best deal is their lunch buffet as, otherwise, their prices can be a bit high (this is fairly consistent across all Japanese restaurants in the area though). They refresh most of the items on the buffet fairly frequently, so they are nice and fresh (especially the sushi, but also the tempura).

When we aren't having the buffet, our daughter (age 9) also really likes their tempura udon. My husband tends to get the beef curry, which is just like that we had in the curry and coffee houses in Japan.

The staff is always very friendly and helpful, even recommending when they don't think an item is good that day. This isn't the only Japanese restaurant where we eat in the area, but is probably the one were we go the most. And it's good every time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffet is Awesome Deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The lunch buffet is a steal. The fish is fresh and there are lots of other offerings if you don't eat sushi.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tsunami also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to tsunami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage tsunami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.