We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Tsunami of a Buffet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of tsunami

tsunami
13039 Fair Lakes Shopping Ctr, Centreville, VA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 93 restaurants in Centreville
Restaurant details
Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Real Tsunami of a Buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The sushi just keeps on coming! Busy sushi/sashimi chefs behind the counter, a captivating array of food on display. A real deal of a buffet for $13.99 per person. And for the non-sushi customers, there is some cooked sushi and asian options like crispy chicken, chicken teriyaki and something like General Tzo's chicken, I forget the name. There is tempura and miso soup, too! All very very good. Lots of happy customers every time I've been there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good weekend buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Not the biggest buffet out there, but at $13.99 the price can't be beat. The servers are good with staying on top of drinks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Daughter's Favorite Japanese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

First, it's important to note that this restaurant isn't actually in Centreville. It's in Fairfax (the entire Fair Lakes Shopping Center is). That being said, it is pretty close to Centreville so is easily accessible from there.

The food here is very good and very consistent. It isn't necessarily the best of everything, but it is perfectly passable in pretty much every regard. The best deal is their lunch buffet as, otherwise, their prices can be a bit high (this is fairly consistent across all Japanese restaurants in the area though). They refresh most of the items on the buffet fairly frequently, so they are nice and fresh (especially the sushi, but also the tempura).

When we aren't having the buffet, our daughter (age 9) also really likes their tempura udon. My husband tends to get the beef curry, which is just like that we had in the curry and coffee houses in Japan.

The staff is always very friendly and helpful, even recommending when they don't think an item is good that day. This isn't the only Japanese restaurant where we eat in the area, but is probably the one were we go the most. And it's good every time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffet is Awesome Deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The lunch buffet is a steal. The fish is fresh and there are lots of other offerings if you don't eat sushi.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love this little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

This place is great to stop by especially when im shopping at target, which is right next door. The miso soup is amazing and Their seaweed salad is my favorite. I love all the sushi. I even eat the eel. I have been to alot of sushi places in the area and think that this one is a pretty great one. Not the best but I always enjoy how nice the staff is and how everyone greets you when you walk in the door. It always makes me smile :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tsunami also viewed

Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Centreville, Fairfax County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County

Been to tsunami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage tsunami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.