We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prices aren't justified” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Poplar Springs Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
9245 Rogues Road, Casanova, VA 20139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Casanova
1 review
“Prices aren't justified”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I have spent many an evening over the past seven plus years enjoying the absolutely lovely ambiance of this gorgeous venue. We were sad when it closed and looked forward with great anticipation to the reopening. So, we called and made reservations for ourselves and friends for this past Friday. The evening was beautiful. Unfortunately, the prices are now very much out of line for our area. Sixteen dollars for one cocktail is on the ridiculous side. We usually pay ten when we go into DC. Our friend ordered the scallops and there were three on his plate for (if I'm remembering correctly) $32. The arugula and fennel salad was good, but contained neither arugula nor fennel. So, although the beauty of the manor house is absolutely unsurpassed in this area, I don't believe the prices are justified. The serving sizes are tiny and food wasn't up to par. I sincerely hope that the owners of Poplar Springs get a grip on the reality of this location, adjust the prices and serving sizes. If so, they will be packed. If not, the lovely dining room will continue to be an empty shell, void of patrons.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a lovely, relaxing time at Poplar Springs. A perfect moment of respite after a busy summer and before heading into autumn. We were greeted at the door by name and taken to a spacious room that was clean and bright. Polly, the manager, welcomed us in person and in a note and checked in with us to see if there was anything we needed. Amanda was warm and also was very happy to provide us with information and followed up afterwards.

The pool was quiet and felt like our own (we went mid-week). We read for hours there. The spa was great. The folks were friendly and skilled.

We also ate at the Manor House restaurant there and the food and service there were top-notch. Chef Kenneth Hughes came to our table to introduce himself, and we talked about different dishes and cuisines. The lobster risotto is not to be missed, as are the scallops and the filet.

It is a beautiful area and the trees were majestic. We are looking forward to going back again and again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From beginning to end, our time at Poplar Springs was a delight. We arrived a bit late, no problem, they were still happy to see us. Had dinner at the Manor House restaurant, which was splendid. The service was impeccable! They were there when you needed them, but didn't hover. Food was most excellent and cooked just as we had requested. The next morning our spa time was just wonderful. I do think it was a bit expensive - I don't pay that much in DC for a massage, but when in Rome. Finally, brunch on Sunday was also just terrific. There was a cold starter buffet, a hot entree and delectable desserts as well. Wow!!! You can expect to see us back. A special shout out to Polly, the manager, who gave us some extra tlc from beginning to end. The best thing about Poplar Springs is that it really isn't that far from the DC area, yet you feel as if you have gotten away!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello CCSatKyiv,

Thanks you so much for your review of your visit to Poplar Springs Inn and the Manor House Restaurant. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and thank for your "shout out" to Polly, our Inn Manager who is a true hospitality professional! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

On Friday, July 25th a group of friends gathered on the patio to enjoy a relaxing evening of drinks, food and good music. Upon arrival we ordered a glass of wine ($14.00) and a beer. After waiting 35 minutes( others at our table had been made to wait even longer just to be served a drink) my husband spoke to the manager as to the delay in service. Poplar Springs has always been known as an upscale venue, one doesn't mind paying more as long as the service is good. Unfortunately, the service for our entire table never improved. Two of the men at our table also got up to see what the hold up on just drinks could possibly be, never did get that figured out. We got our drinks, 40 minutes after ordering them, for another couple it was 45, another never did get their drinks because they ended up on my husbands lap, but I am getting ahead of myself. After all of the waiting we decided it wasn't worth trying to order more drinks or attempt to order food because we all felt they would never arrive. We simply asked for our check and gave the waiter our card.....when he returned, carrying 2 glasses of red wine on his tray, he said our check had been comped and then bent to look at the bill which was for over $200.00(wrong bill, someone else's table) he dumped both glasses of wine all over my husband. He was dripping wet with red wine. The server said he was sorry then absolutely disappeared! No one came over to help at all. My husband again went in search of the manager. All that was asked of him was to get some towels so he could dry off a bit, and also have the ability to cover our white car seats so they wouldn't be ruined; then we could finally get OUT OF THERE! Again we stood there waiting and waiting for the towels, no one came, no one cared. My husband finally went inside himself and picked up some tablecloths, we used them to cover the car seat. The staff was chasing him down telling him he could NOT take the tablecloths but after waiting for towels that had not come we had HAD IT to say the least! ( He will be dropping the tablecloths off the next time he is in the area.) We will never return to Poplar Springs. It was THE WORST EVENING EVER. I kept thinking we must be on a Candid Camera show and any minute someone would pop out from behind a plant and we would all have a good laugh but no such luck. Unfortunately, the looser in all of this is Poplar Springs. It is a beautiful place, however, unless they can provide quality service and really care about their patrons folks will go elsewhere to spend their money. I very much hope things improve. A good rule of thumb is to treat people the way you would want to be treated.




  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Tammy,

Thank you for your review. Obviously to say we dropped the ball is a vast understatement. There is no excuse for a guest to have this type of experience at Poplar Springs. On behalf of the entire team, please accept our apologies. Yes we are new and have many new team members, but once again, there is no excuse for this type of situation. We are currently training our new staff members, and working hard to improve our service. Hopefully, in time, we will have the opportunity to demonstrate to you and your friends, the positive Poplar Springs experience we want to deliver to all our guests.

Again, please accept our deepest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have been going to the inn for approx. 7 years and when we booked this trip did not know the property had been sold to new owners. Previous owner was chef of the Manor house restaurant adjacent to the inn. While the property was beautiful the rooms were dated but the food made it worthwhile. Well the new owners try very hard and the staff could not be more helpful. Spa is improved and we had a wonderful couples massage. The rooms ares still dated,makeup mirror did not work, room would not cool and shower door did not function properly. However, the biggest disappointment was the Manor House restaurant. Menu was limited and ordinary. Food was bland at best. Server brought the wrong salad and then proceeded to tell us it was the chef's fault. For us the magic of the inn and spa is gone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Bill J,

Thank you for your review and your specific comments. We are very sorry to hear about your situation with the guest room, and will bring the details to the attention of our facilities manager, if you haven't reported it to reception already. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the spa and the couples massage. Regarding the restaurant, we are working on new menus as well as training new staff. We do hope you give us another chance to bring the magic back for you! It is feedback like yours which can help us improve quickly. Thank you! The Management of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I recently visited Poplar Springs Inn, Spa, & Manor House Restaurant for a romantic spa and overnight getaway. Coming from Northern Va, the drive took less than an hour but felt like we were a world away. We checked in on a Saturday afternoon prior to our spa services. Our room was amazing - inviting, clean, spacious, and unique. The decor made it feel more like we were staying at a french countryside estate. It did not feel like a typical hotel or bed & breakfast accommodations. The inn staff was welcoming and attentive. After checking in, we made our way to the spa where we had the opportunity to lounge by the pool/hot tub prior to our spa treatments. The pool bar offered drinks and a lunch menu (the sangria, poached salmon & chicken salad were delicious). The spa staff was very friendly and allowed us to lounge by the pool up until our scheduled treatments. We both received a facial, body scrub, hot oil scalp treatment, and a couples massage. All services were amazing and set the mood for a relaxing and romantic night. The spa technicians were very attentive and made sure that our needs were met. The bathrobes the spa staff provided were very comfortable. There is a sauna in both the men and women's locker room which added to the relaxation factor. Our day of relaxation continued into the evening as we dined at the Manor House Restaurant - the ambiance and food were phenomenal! After dinner, we enjoyed a bottle of wine on our room patio. The next morning, fresh coffee, fruit, and pastries were available in the lobby. The Manor House Restaurant also had brunch available - it was another amazing meal. Our only regret is that we did not stay 2 nights. There were several amenities (nature trail, fishing, bocce ball, chipping green) that we were unable to take advantage of and wish that we had enough time to do so. I look forward to visiting Poplar Springs again - as a romantic getaway and also as a fun girls' spa day! This was the perfect getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Maria K,

Thank you for your review and comments about the newly re-opened Poplar Springs Inn & Spa. We are glad you had such a wonderful time and hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon! The Management of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

While out on a day trip to at a local lavender farm, we discovered this wonderful Inn/Spa/Restaurant built along an old Indian Trail in colonial days. Hidden in the "horsey" countryside of Virginia near Washington, DC (about 1½ hours away) is a great "getaway" inn. The food at the restaurant, The Manor House, was excellent and showed the care that the overall facility provides. The Wait Staff was excellent and food delicious in every way from taste to presentation.

The Inn has about 21 very attractive rooms and the adjoining Spa seems to care for every need. Loved the beautiful outdoor pool with the bar/food service. Great for day away but you might feel so good that you will be tempted to stay overnight. Also would be a good place for small executive retreats as the conference room is fully equipped. Plus no distractions close by allows full focus on the work at hand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear CarpeDiem 45,

Thank you for your review and visit to Poplar Springs Inn & Spa. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay and your Manor House Restaurant experience. Please make plans to join us again soon! The Management of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poplar Springs Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Springs Inn & Spa

Address: 9245 Rogues Road, Casanova, VA 20139
Location: United States > Virginia > Casanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Casanova
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful country estate inn, spa and The Manor House Restaurant are open. We are a perfect location for a weekend away, elegant wedding or business retreat! Or just a day at the spa and a delicious meal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Poplar Springs Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poplar Springs-The Hotel Casanova
Poplar Springs Hotel
Poplar Springs Casanova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;