We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a French Countryside Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Poplar Springs Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5025 Casanova Road, Casanova, VA 20187   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Casanova
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feels like a French Countryside Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I recently visited Poplar Springs Inn, Spa, & Manor House Restaurant for a romantic spa and overnight getaway. Coming from Northern Va, the drive took less than an hour but felt like we were a world away. We checked in on a Saturday afternoon prior to our spa services. Our room was amazing - inviting, clean, spacious, and unique. The decor made it feel more like we were staying at a french countryside estate. It did not feel like a typical hotel or bed & breakfast accommodations. The inn staff was welcoming and attentive. After checking in, we made our way to the spa where we had the opportunity to lounge by the pool/hot tub prior to our spa treatments. The pool bar offered drinks and a lunch menu (the sangria, poached salmon & chicken salad were delicious). The spa staff was very friendly and allowed us to lounge by the pool up until our scheduled treatments. We both received a facial, body scrub, hot oil scalp treatment, and a couples massage. All services were amazing and set the mood for a relaxing and romantic night. The spa technicians were very attentive and made sure that our needs were met. The bathrobes the spa staff provided were very comfortable. There is a sauna in both the men and women's locker room which added to the relaxation factor. Our day of relaxation continued into the evening as we dined at the Manor House Restaurant - the ambiance and food were phenomenal! After dinner, we enjoyed a bottle of wine on our room patio. The next morning, fresh coffee, fruit, and pastries were available in the lobby. The Manor House Restaurant also had brunch available - it was another amazing meal. Our only regret is that we did not stay 2 nights. There were several amenities (nature trail, fishing, bocce ball, chipping green) that we were unable to take advantage of and wish that we had enough time to do so. I look forward to visiting Poplar Springs again - as a romantic getaway and also as a fun girls' spa day! This was the perfect getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Maria K,

Thank you for your review and comments about the newly re-opened Poplar Springs Inn & Spa. We are glad you had such a wonderful time and hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon! The Management of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

While out on a day trip to at a local lavender farm, we discovered this wonderful Inn/Spa/Restaurant built along an old Indian Trail in colonial days. Hidden in the "horsey" countryside of Virginia near Washington, DC (about 1½ hours away) is a great "getaway" inn. The food at the restaurant, The Manor House, was excellent and showed the care that the overall facility provides. The Wait Staff was excellent and food delicious in every way from taste to presentation.

The Inn has about 21 very attractive rooms and the adjoining Spa seems to care for every need. Loved the beautiful outdoor pool with the bar/food service. Great for day away but you might feel so good that you will be tempted to stay overnight. Also would be a good place for small executive retreats as the conference room is fully equipped. Plus no distractions close by allows full focus on the work at hand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear CarpeDiem 45,

Thank you for your review and visit to Poplar Springs Inn & Spa. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay and your Manor House Restaurant experience. Please make plans to join us again soon! The Management of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel, along with its staff, are great. Very quite location with peaceful surroundings. Beds and linens are quite comfortable. The Manor House was one of our best dining experiences - food and service. Love the pastry chef's morning granola too. New ownership has done a great job w/the improvements to the property and some great new additions to its staff - thanks Polly for making it a great birthday day/evening! We'll be going back and highly recommend the Poplar Springs Inn.
Tip- local vineyards are close to Poplar and were very good, particularly the Mediterranean Cellars winery! Great wine, ambiance and service (we adore the woman serving us from Amsterdam!).

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Bryan C,

Thank you both for your review and choosing Poplar Springs Inn & Spa for this special celebration. We are very happy to hear you had a great visit and enjoyed the neighboring wineries. We look forward to welcoming you back to Poplar Springs Inn & Spa. The Management of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Inn last weekend and had a lovely time. We checked in on Friday and had both lunch and dinner and The Manor House. Both meals were simply delicious. (And I agree with the a previous post about the Poplar Pinks - yum!) The room was clean and spacious. The continental breakfast offered each morning is a nice touch. They offer coffee, juice, fresh fruit, muffins, mini bagels, granola and yogurt, providing a very nice variety. We relaxed at the pool, which also has a jacuzzi. The best feature of the pool area is the fact that they have a wait staff present to serve drinks and lunch right at the pool. (They are installing a bar/grill area, but it wasn't quite open yet). The grounds around the Inn are beautiful and truly tucked away in a peaceful setting. The staff is very friendly, accommodating, and make you feel like a special guest. My husband and I are already planning a trip back to the Inn in the Fall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello 912loriw, So glad you and your friend enjoyed your visit to Poplar Springs Inn & Spa and thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the pool and yes the new pool bar is now open. Another reason to come back! We hope to see you again soon! The Management of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at the Poplar Springs Inn and certainly would recommend it as a place to go. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Grounds and Inn were beautiful. I would certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you Erik for your review. We hope to welcome you back to Poplar Springs Inn and Spa again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of dining at Poplar Springs, and we can both say without a doubt that the new owners have outdone themselves. The food was delicious and the grounds are breathtaking! We will definitely be back and will be spreading the word to all of our friends and family! You don't want to miss this one!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello Jenny,

We are so happy you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Poplar Springs Inn and Spa and your dinner at The Manor House Restaurant. Yes, please do tell your friends about us and come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Poplar Spring. The crab cakes were divine!!! There was great band performing on their beautiful outdoor patio. I loved the "Pink Poplar" cocktail, it was delicious. My husband and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Springs ... a, Public Relations Manager at Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello Brenda,

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your stay and dinner. The Pink Poplar is one of our new signature cocktails, and what better way to enjoy it but on our beautiful outdoor terrace. We hope to welcome you and your husband back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casanova
8.6 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Warrenton
Hampton Inn Warrenton
#1 of 6 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
22.2 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
4.1 mi away
Black Horse Inn
Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Springs Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Springs Inn & Spa

Address: 5025 Casanova Road, Casanova, VA 20187
Location: United States > Virginia > Casanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Casanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Poplar Springs Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best Of Virginia 2015 come experience why Poplar Springs is the premier spot for Luxury Estate Getaways and live entertianment in Northern Virginia. You've heard that "Virginia is for Lovers." Nestled in the beautiful countryside of Northern Virginia, no luxury Bed and Breakfast exemplifies this better than Poplar Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Poplar Springs Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poplar Springs-The Hotel Casanova
Poplar Springs Hotel
Poplar Springs Casanova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.