We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of problems” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Poplar Springs Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Poplar Springs Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
9245 Rogues Road, Casanova, VA 20139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Casanova
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of problems”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have had a terrible time with this inn. 1st time we stayed they bumped us out of the 400$/night suite into a broken down room with a queen sized bed. They offered us a free stay in the suite at a later date but after we arranged to use the gift card they again bumped us out of our room. This is after we arranged child care, etc, which is inconvenient, but at least we didn't get down to VA before we found out like last time. Our spa appointment was awkward in that they tried to give us a couples massage in different rooms! Once we got that worked out my massage was fine, but my wife was not that pleased with hers. Also had problems with the restaurant when we found ham in the vegetarian's food. The people are nice, but they just can't seem to get it together.

Room Tip: Double check your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    8
    12
    9
See reviews for
6
57
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is crazy quiet - in a lovely way. We had a lovely night away here, and it was sooooo relaxing. Dinner was wonderful - we did a la carte, not the big multi-course deal, and I think that was a great call.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay during the week for our anniversary. We bought a living social deal 2 nights for $350 with 2 $25 gift cert. to use towards food and spa. The grounds were beautiful and peaceful...that was about it. As we walked around the hotel we noticed we were pretty much the only people there. As our stay continued I could see why. The fitness room was EMPTY! all that was left were the marks in the rugs from where equipment used to be. The heated pool was cold, and the hot tub was never on. we decided one of the afternoons to go play tennis/basketball/ride bicycles around the INN...the basketballs were flat, the tires on all the bikes were flat. The restaurant was closed so we went into town to eat. The website and binder in the room recommend the neighboring town highly for food and activities. When we left to do so the man at the desk told us there is not much to do there. Luckily we found plenty to do on our own. Our room was nice except for the enormous bugs and spiders I kept killing both days we were there. Breakfast was delivered to the room which was nice...except it was horrible. For the price we paid I expect to have an actual breakfast not a bowl of sour yogurt and granola. To add on actual food was way over priced. We used our food voucher toward breakfast. A bowl of oatmeal was $10 and was not very good. A waffle with fruit was $18 and tasted like cardboard. We decided to not even utilize the spa because we were so disappointed with the rest of the INN. We didn't want to waste anymore money. It was a 7hr drive to the INN and we made the 7hr drive back home as soon as possible. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found a great deal on one of the "the discount sites" that included the nights stay, plus a very heafty credit at the restaurant. We did the full 5 course dinner and it was simply excellent. When we walked in, we were seated immediately by the window on the hill, overlooking a herd of deer at the edge of the woods. The room was quite nice, and we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub to ourselves for about 30 minutes after dinner. And in the morning we were greated with a deligtful but simple breakfast of yogurt, granola, fruit, juice and coffee/tea which we enjoyed on the privacy of our patio. Would certainly stay here again as it is a nice, quite, romantic get away

Room Tip: We enjoyed the first floor as the patios are truly private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I went here on a Groupon back in March. It was actually a very nice place. I would say that the rooms were 7-8/10, very nice, but nothing overly exquisite. Based on the pictures that I've seen on this website, I would definitely go in the Spring or Summer time; the grounds look fantastic. The staff was very nice, but the true star is the restaurant. Literally, once of the best meals that I've ever had. It will definitely cost you a pretty penny, but worth every dollar! The pre-fixed 3 course meal is PLENTY, but based on how amazing the food was, we wanted to keep eating until discomfort!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I decided to get away for a weekend and were struggling to find something open. We decided on Poplar Springs due to the popular reviews, and for the restaurant and spa. I booked a sports massage including facial, and she booked a deep tissue massage. Both were very very good, the facial was very refreshing and the spa is very relaxing. The inn pool was also very nice, not over chlorinated. The most amazing part of the grounds was the restaurant. Although the 3 and 4 course are expensive it is well worth the money; def make a reservation if you're gonna come all the way out.

I was very disappointed with the accommodations- the walls/door adjacent to the next room are paper thin and we could hear other couples both nights we stayed there. In addition the second night room service never came by and we never got our included breakfast pretty bad considering we spent +$250/night; the rooms are extremely overpriced. the breakfast itself is yogurt, fruit, and a really sour yogurt..i advise if you are looking for something more substantial get up early drive to warrenton then go winery hopping the in room services are extremely overpriced as well. i would stay elsewhere until they bring their prices down.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our second trip to the inn and 3 rd trip to the spa,and as always came home relaxed and refreshed. The staff is top notch and really aim not just to please but to accommodate your every wish. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast was delivered right on time. While the breakfast isn't huge it is fresh and delicious and just what you need after a meal at the Manor House.
The food at The Manor house,is delicious and the presentation of each course worthy of five stars.
I love using the pool and the hot tub and the spa treatments are worth every penny.

There are bikes to use,basketball courts and tennis courts as well. The only negative is the ponds were covered with algae and some of the buildings were beginning to show their age.
Having said that I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poplar Springs Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Springs Inn & Spa

Also Known As:
Poplar Springs-The Hotel Casanova
Poplar Springs-The Hotel
Poplar Springs Hotel
Poplar Springs Casanova
Address: 9245 Rogues Road, Casanova, VA 20139
Location: United States > Virginia > Casanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Casanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful country estate inn, spa and The Manor House Restaurant will be re-opening in June 2014. We are a perfect location for a weekend away, elegant wedding or business retreat! Or just a day at the spa and a delicious meal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Poplar Springs Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poplar Springs Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.