We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch crab cake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Chuck A Mucks Ship

Captain Chuck A Mucks Ship
21088 Marina Rd, Carrollton, VA 23314
(757) 356-1005
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 restaurants in Carrollton
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“top notch crab cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

got there for lunch and sat outside. Very nice atmosphere. Had baskets and the crab cake was great--shrimp not so much. Not crazy about the fact that you can only get french fries with the basket. They're standard frozen quality. Also tried the crab soup and it didn't do much. Tasted like cream of celery soup with a bunch of crab dropped in it. The service was good though. Our waitress was a delight. She was friendly and helpful. I'd go again but it seems the captain is trying to sell the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    28
    35
    8
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good soft shells when in season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Have been going there for years. It's rustic, the food is up and down depending on what you order. The setting, on the water is peaceful and you can tie up with your boat if so inclined. Alcohol selections are basic. Soft shells have always been good. Worth a drive out into the country to have a lunch or dinner on the water

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too Pricy for the portion size!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Atmosphere was good, friendly staff, but food just ok. Sizes for the price especially is what got me for just fried shrimp and only got about 6. They were out of oysters which is what I really wanted. If the food was outstanding and sizes were better, I might return. We had a big table and took over 45 min to get our dinner. They do not put bread or hush puppies even on the table to snack on while waiting for our food which you get from most seafood places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dinner with my Wife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We both love seafood. This is not our first time here. The atmosphere is simple. The Restaurant is on the water but it was too hot to sit outside. I recommend the hush puppies as an appetizer. My wife had the crab au gratin and she loved it. I had the softshell crab boat and it was fried perfectly. They serve good seafood but don't expect fancy. I will be back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Capt. Chuck-a-Mucks sits over a creek off the James River, has wide open views of the water and surrounding marsh. We had fried oysters and a fried shrimp boat, really tasty food. Save some room for the peach cobbler, it's delicious. Lunch is a little pricey, but the food, service and view create an excellent , relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Chuck A Mucks Ship also viewed

 

Been to Captain Chuck A Mucks Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Chuck A Mucks Ship, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.